ANIMPOS

Non-platform specific questions.

ANIMPOS

Postby willg101 » Sun Mar 06, 2005 12:13 am

How do you make animpos apply to all animations instantly?
It doesn't work like that in my game.
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:12 am

animpos will change the frame of your current animation only
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:33 am

get animpos
change animation
put animpos?

( theory not tested ) :wink:
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby willg101 » Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:36 am

jazz_e_bob wrote:get animpos
change animation
put animpos?

( theory not tested ) :wink:

Ummm.. Please explain...
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:32 am

OK - I tried to make a demo.

http://www.artsystems.com.au/game%20editor/demo%20-%20animpos%20sync.zip

An actor with two animations.

ON Mouse Down Event:
Code: Select all
double oldAnimPos = animpos;

if ( animindex == getAnimIndex("katie 01") )
  ChangeAnimation("Event Actor", "lily 01", FORWARD);
else
  ChangeAnimation("Event Actor", "katie 01", FORWARD);

animpos = oldAnimPos;


But...

It doesn't seem to work. :(

The animation position resets to the first frame. Not to the same frame as the previous animation.

Makslane may know what I am doing wrong. He is good at this kind of thing. :wink:
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby willg101 » Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:59 pm

Thanks for trying! :D

I dont any more help, though. I don't need this code for now...
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby tom.drin » Sat May 21, 2005 5:55 pm

Hi!
I'm interested in this question, because I've got same problem...when I'm changing the gun, my player resets animation and it looks bad.
I was thinking about similar code like jazz_e_bob showed, but like he I find out that it's not working.
Do you have any ideas how to take care of this?
tom.drin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 10:08 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby willg101 » Fri May 27, 2005 10:30 pm

No, I just plain gave up on this. I needed the code for another site, but by then I found they didn't want my game anymore. :(

Sorry!
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Sat May 28, 2005 6:25 am

User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Tue May 31, 2005 12:17 pm

To change animation without reset current frame, just use the "No change" option in Change Animation action (NO_CHANGE in script)

Sorry all, I have put this option a long time ago, but forget update the docs :oops:
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Tue May 31, 2005 12:52 pm

Thanks mate.

I have updated the demo:

http://www.artsystems.com.au/game%20editor/demo%20-%20animpos%20sync.zip

Click on girl to change the anim. The animations stay synchronised!

Image
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron