What do I need to make this work?

Talk about making games.

What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Thu May 17, 2012 4:15 am

What is the best way of setting up an RPG like system? How would I transition from walking to battle the best way possible?
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby skydereign » Thu May 17, 2012 4:19 am

You can't really say there is a best way, since there are so many different ways all having benefits and disadvantages (which all depend on your game and setup). From the tools gE provides, I think the most gE way is to use an activation region. Essentially move the view into the battle activation region after setting some global variables. Have in some actor's create actor event the code that actually creates the battle according to the variable set. From there all the actors within the region should act only for the battle. When it finishes, jump the view back to wherever the player was when you stopped. To do this you may need to store the player's position via global variables, but if you set up the rpg world to act with activation regions properly, none of that will be a large concern.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3395
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 565 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Thu May 17, 2012 4:49 am

Alright, thanks :)
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby RippeR7420 » Thu May 17, 2012 4:57 pm

I've thought about this a bunch myself. And the best conclusion I came up with, is to have your battle system set up in its own .ged file. Then in your main game have it save the vars, and load the battle.ged. Then vice versa. I think it would be fun to make a example.ged. :)
User avatar
RippeR7420
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah.
Score: 15 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby AliceXIII » Fri May 18, 2012 2:44 pm

I've done it where i have the tiles in my map decide if there's a random battle on the collision with the player.

that way all i have to do is have my players previous x and y saved temporarily, move him to his new x,y place enemies in there x and y placements then change the tiles animation by loading my battle map which is stored in the same binary format as any map in my game..

in my opinion easiest and least of a hassle cause everything can be done in one .ged and you only need to pass a couple variables, also the activation regions only cover wide spectrum areas to where as checking collision's with the player and tiles you can specify only certain tiles as enabling battles and others to not create battles i also only enable collisions on the specific tile i deal with collisions on so that way you pass minimal collision events :P

just my thoughts :P
"Taking a breath of fresh air."
User avatar
AliceXIII
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:36 am
Location: victoria, texas
Score: 37 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Mon May 21, 2012 12:04 pm

The random battles part may or may not be easy. You could have it add a variable by a random ammount when the animpos is equal to the stepping animations but not others. You'd have to make sure though that you can't walk against a wall and then trigger a battle. You'd also have to find a way to make sure it doesn't loop when the animpos is right.
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby AliceXIII » Fri May 25, 2012 2:53 pm

random battles are easy i have a turned based battle system like chrono trigger has if you want to check it out?

better yet the entire system i mentioned is in my Arcane Engine which i need you to check out considering your RPG Engine is the only reason the Arcane Engine exists :P

i'll drop you a pm with the download it's still in alpha stage so don't judge it to bad most of the programming thus far was for a basic battle system, creating custom maps, and a couple basic menus :P
"Taking a breath of fresh air."
User avatar
AliceXIII
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:36 am
Location: victoria, texas
Score: 37 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Sat May 26, 2012 3:48 pm

its awesome! :D
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby AliceXIII » Sat May 26, 2012 9:20 pm

thank you i've worked hard on it thus far and still plan to log more hours in this endeavour :P
"Taking a breath of fresh air."
User avatar
AliceXIII
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:36 am
Location: victoria, texas
Score: 37 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Sun May 27, 2012 12:24 am

Its going to turn out a sucess I know it ^^
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby AliceXIII » Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:10 pm

Thanks :P
"Taking a breath of fresh air."
User avatar
AliceXIII
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:36 am
Location: victoria, texas
Score: 37 Give a positive score

Re: What do I need to make this work?

Postby Hblade » Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:13 pm

np :D
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4345
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 167 Give a positive score


Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron