Tiles edit

Ideas for Game Editor evolution.

Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:17 pm

I would like be able to edit tiles...
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Kalladdolf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:45 pm

You are so right.
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 119 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:19 pm

Its kind of sick FORCED to remake the tiles whenever we make a mistake or want to add some more...
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Kalladdolf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:41 pm

Well, you can edit them while drawing, but I don't think that's what you meant.
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 119 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:45 pm

Everyone knows that
What I mean is reedit it. Of course after that drawing thing finished, not while drawing.
Get it?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Kalladdolf » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:48 pm

Kalladdolf wrote:but I don't think that's what you meant.
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 119 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby pyrometal » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:19 pm

There is an easy way to work around your problem bee-ant, just never modify the width of your file at all and any new tiles you want to add, just increase the height of the bitmap and them in that new space.
SPRITE WARRIOR:
Free, open-source & crossplatform pixel art editor (currently under construction).
User avatar
pyrometal
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Score: 85 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:56 am

Isnt that will make a new actor/clone?
All i want is edit single actor...
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby skydereign » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:00 am

If you edit the image that holds your tile, but you maintain the width, all that will happen is an increase in tile amount. So you can add more tiles.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 570 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:37 am

Not only add, but also decrease and changeanimation.

Thats why I request this feature since GE hasnt.

Oh yah,one more..
I would like be able to clone through array from right to left,down to up. Currently, we can only clone from left to right, up to down.
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby BlarghNRawr » Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:10 pm

Cant you simply edit the picture in the data folder to change the tiles as long as you leave the filename the same?
I believe that is what you were talking about though...
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:42 pm

Im so sure talked about editing tiles, not editing picture..
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby skydereign » Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:19 pm

In that case, you can edit tiles. When you have a set of tiles, you can delete certain tiles and put others is, rearrange them. If you need more tiles, or edit them, you manipulate your tile picture, it is like editing animations... That covers adding of tiles, not sure exactly what you meant by changeanimation, but I believe that is actually editing the picture, switching them around.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 570 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby Bee-Ant » Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:05 am

I meant editing the tiles composition. Its form. If we make a mistake when building it, wrong location maybe, we can erase that one. After we finish our tiles, save the project, exit GE..reopen our project again, we can continue to build that tiles.
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3695
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Can bee found antywhere
Score: 209 Give a positive score

Re: Tiles edit

Postby skydereign » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:13 am

You can... I can at least. You can delete and add more. After coming back, you just click the tiles, and the same thing works... You can't, or maybe I don't understand what you are talking about?
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 570 Give a positive score

Next

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests