Reiners Tilesets in GE?

Talk about making games.

Reiners Tilesets in GE?

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:03 am

Check out:

http://www.reinerstileset.4players.de:1059/englisch.htm

I downloaded a groundcover tileset:

http://www.reinerstileset.4players.de:1059/T_flat_slope_iso.zip

Has anyone had any sort of experience loading these graphics into GE as a tileset?
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby Game A Gogo » Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:36 am

Do you meen like transforme it so it can fit in GE?? If so I can do it.
Programming games is an art,
    Respect it.
User avatar
Game A Gogo
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:49 pm
Location: French Canada *laughs*
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Tile

Postby jj2197 » Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:29 am

I got it to work. 8)
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:38 am

Game_a_Gogo wrote:Do you meen like transforme it so it can fit in GE?? If so I can do it.


Yes.

I'm not sure how to cut it up.

:(
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Re: Tile

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:38 am

jj1790 wrote:I got it to work. 8)


Well done. Now tell me how you did it! :wink:
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby Analog-X » Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:53 am

A small tutorial on how its done would be more beneficial than "I Did it" :)
Analog-X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Explanation

Postby jj2197 » Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:32 am

Hope this is what you were talking about. I made a new actor put the animation on it and raised the horizontal and vertical frame till it was a tile. 8)
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 7:13 am

Cheers. I'll give it a try!

8)
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby jj2197 » Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:44 pm

Ok. 8)
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:11 pm

It kinda works. Need demo to fully understand.

:cry:

Yes - Making games == complex.

There is no "easy" way to do it really....
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby jj2197 » Sun Jul 03, 2005 7:38 pm

What do you mean by kinda. 8)
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:24 pm

Well, the tiles don't match nicely.

What settings did you use for Horizontal and Verticle frames?

Did you need to edit the image first?
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Awnser

Postby jj2197 » Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:31 am

I did 10 and 20. but the light blue color still shows up on some of the tiles. 8)
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Mon Jul 04, 2005 6:13 am

OK.

I have found that Reiners tilesets come in single bitmaps where some tiles are bigger or shaped differently from others.

You need to break the bitmaps down into size groups and add them as animations separately.

I have made an example using the following ground cover tileset:
http://www.reinerstileset.4players.de:1059/T%20grund%20iso.zip

Download it here:
http://www.artsystems.com.au/game%20editor/groundTile.zip

8)
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:52 am

If you analyse the image, you can easily see that there are 8 horizontal sprites. So that's why I put 8 for horizontal frames. As for the vertical ones, it's very difficult to say. But I chose 16 for vertical frames. Don't ask me why :idea: Maybe that needs more observation 8)

Then on CreateActor > Script :
Code: Select all
ChangeAnimationDirection("Event Actor", STOPPED);

animpos = ( the position you want from the tile ) // say 6 which corresponds to the upper Blue square sprite. Remember, first anim position starts at animpos=0)


The only problem is that when converting the actor to tiles, you loose you animpos condition. Tha animation goes back to 0 :(

I'm gonna make some research on that kind of sprites ...
See you !
User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Next

Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 1 guest