Noob needs help

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Noob needs help

Postby Devil Metal Knight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:18 am

Okay I started on this a while ago and know some things. But I want to know this....

How do I make it so when I pick someone like Mario in a character selection and then it shows a picture about him. After that I pick a level and when it starts i'm Mario. Then when it's done and I want to play as Luigi and pick a level and when I start I'm luigi. How do I do this?
Super Smash Bash
Completed:
Title screen, Options screen, Main Screen
Working on: Character selection
User avatar
Devil Metal Knight
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:45 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Thanx » Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:08 am

Here, I made a little sample program. Study the scripts and you'll understand. If you have any questions, just ask. Oh, and there's one problem you might have: I made it in version 1.3.9 So, this might not be compatible with you Game Editor... :( Worth a try...
Attachments
choosing characters.zip
This is it.
(267.01 KiB) Downloaded 101 times
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyXexDJBv58
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Be4__gww1xQ
These are me and playing the piano (second one with a friend/fellow student)
Hope you watch and enjoy!
User avatar
Thanx
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Home sweet home! :)
Score: 24 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Devil Metal Knight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:18 pm

ya I tried an it doesn't work... Could you just post the script? Or something like that?
Please and Thank you
Super Smash Bash
Completed:
Title screen, Options screen, Main Screen
Working on: Character selection
User avatar
Devil Metal Knight
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:45 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:20 pm

Very simple...but first, do you know how to add user variable?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Devil Metal Knight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:29 pm

No I don't how?
Super Smash Bash
Completed:
Title screen, Options screen, Main Screen
Working on: Character selection
User avatar
Devil Metal Knight
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:45 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:38 pm

Ummm...you need to know it first... :D
No mean to tease you...but, this will need a lot of variables
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Devil Metal Knight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:42 pm

woops! I found it out.... But I did use them before. So I do know how. I just forgot what they were. :oops:
sorry
Super Smash Bash
Completed:
Title screen, Options screen, Main Screen
Working on: Character selection
User avatar
Devil Metal Knight
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:45 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:52 pm

I'll make a demo tomorow...I'm really tired...
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Thanx » Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:16 am

You don't need many variables. On onclick just use change animation. If the animation for that picture is Mario, then change animation-> Mario animations. No need for variables, just check for the type of animations used earlier.
Do you understand? I could detail.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyXexDJBv58
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Be4__gww1xQ
These are me and playing the piano (second one with a friend/fellow student)
Hope you watch and enjoy!
User avatar
Thanx
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Home sweet home! :)
Score: 24 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:24 am

But how about Changing Animation of an actor which you control?
It need variable...
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby Thanx » Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:45 pm

Devil Metal Knight said that there would be a picture that shows the chosen character. With an if statement it can be solved.
An actor with animations have a property called animindex.
If you've got two animations, the 1.st is Mario, the 2nd is Luigi, then for Mario the animindex is 0; for Luigi it's 1;
In Key-down event add if statement
if animindex == 0
Use mario anim
if animindex ==1
Use Luigi anim
No need to understand variables. But they are usefull! Should know them, and I have no objection on doing it with variables, but it can be done other ways... If that's your weak-point.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyXexDJBv58
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Be4__gww1xQ
These are me and playing the piano (second one with a friend/fellow student)
Hope you watch and enjoy!
User avatar
Thanx
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Home sweet home! :)
Score: 24 Give a positive score

Re: Noob needs help

Postby DilloDude » Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:43 pm

Thanx wrote:if animindex == 0
Use mario anim
if animindex ==1

For the second one, you'd want to use an else if, so you don't need to check again if the first was true... or even better, use a switch.
Image
User avatar
DilloDude
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Nyerellion
Score: 58 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron