3D Platforms -UPDATED now with X and Y scrolling

Talk about making games.

Re: 3D Platforms -UPDATED now with X and Y scrolling

Postby jimmynewguy » Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:49 pm

has any one here ever played any of the old metal gear solid games? this type of viewing the map is just like those games were, so technically some one could remake one (which were rated top back in the day :D )
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: 3D Platforms -UPDATED now with X and Y scrolling

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:44 pm

A good explanation feral. Well, in GE we can trick the z axis by using zdepth and positive y axis.
For example make 2 actors.place them on positive x y coordinate (higher than (0,0) coordinate).make 1 of them can move up and down,using keydown or something.then,put this code on DrawActor event on both actor:
ChangeZDepth("Event Actor",y*0.001);
Now you can see that,the lower position(the higher y) will cover the higher position(the lower y). This method usualy used on RPG,front view race,first person shooter,etc :D.
Oh yah,btw what i mean with "how do you make the z axis" is how do feral draw the diagonal line which connect every side of the front box with the back box...:D
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: 3D Platforms -UPDATED now with X and Y scrolling

Postby feral » Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:05 pm

Oh yah,btw what i mean with "how do you make the z axis" is how do feral draw the diagonal line which connect every side of the front box with the back box...:D


Sadly ( for bee-ant who doesn't like canvas's :lol: )... I used one very large canvas which covers the screen and sits between the front squares and the back squares...(zdepth)

I then calculated each corner of the "back squares" and each corner of the 'front squares" and used canvas drawing to draw the lines between each corner.

It actually works very well with decent speed. ;), I still used sprites for the square to help speed things up.

note: there is a small test to determine if the "any of corners" are "onscreen" , if so draw the lines

hope that helps..
feral
User avatar
feral
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am
Score: 47 Give a positive score

Previous

Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron