How Do you add music?

Non-platform specific questions.

How Do you add music?

Postby LucasA33 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:05 pm

I want to add "Music" To the game. But, I want the music to be displayed in "A certain area"
LucasA33
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:17 am
Location: Science, Technology, Computers, Programming, and Robotics.
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:09 pm

create a region (Add Actor -> Type: filled or wire frame region). Use for the collision event with the player this:
Code: Select all
PlayMusic2(your_music, 1.000000, 0, HIGH_PRIORITY_MUSIC);

put the region on that place, where it has to start and it should work.
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby BlarghNRawr » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:19 pm

thats the coding way...
why does everyone use codes instead of the easy way?
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:21 pm

blarghNRawr wrote:thats the coding way...
why does everyone use codes instead of the easy way?

You can do more in codes.
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby LucasA33 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:35 pm

I tried it, but I need spicific music like .wav, Where can I get that
LucasA33
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:17 am
Location: Science, Technology, Computers, Programming, and Robotics.
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby BlarghNRawr » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:37 pm

u want music?
i have pokemon music u can use...
its every thing from SSBB :D
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:41 pm

LucasA33 wrote:I tried it, but I need spicific music like .wav, Where can I get that

GE can play a lot of music formats.
You can download midis: http://www.vgmusic.com/
You can also ask ==Kalladdolf==. He could make you music as wma, wav or mp3. Surely many more.
If you would like to have another format of music, tell me, maybe I can help you.
Last edited by asmodeus on Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby BlarghNRawr » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:43 pm

i think .ogg is the best
just get a converter from download.com
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:48 pm

asmodeus wrote:You can also ask ==Kalladdolf==. He could make you music as wma, wav or mp3.

Sorry, don't use mp3. You can't play them with GE.
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby BlarghNRawr » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:18 pm

u wants my music?
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby pyrometal » Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:43 pm

If possible, use modules for your music files, since they take litterally no space! its actually changing to create a file of these types that exceed 100Kb in space. These are 4 popular types (.it .s3m .xm .mod)
SPRITE WARRIOR:
Free, open-source & crossplatform pixel art editor (currently under construction).
User avatar
pyrometal
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Score: 86 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:06 pm

pyrometal wrote:If possible, use modules for your music files, since they take litterally no space! its actually changing to create a file of these types that exceed 100Kb in space. These are 4 popular types (.it .s3m .xm .mod)

I agree. But I noticed a problem in GE. It seems that game-editor can't loop the music correctly at "position jumps" in the module. I'm not sure if it at with each module or only with some. I just tested an IT file, but it didn't play anything. When I played the same mmusic as the xm file, it was playing but not looping correctly.

So, when using modules in GE, be sure that there isn't the "position jump".
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby pyrometal » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:20 pm

I never had these problems... That's weird... I create and play (.it) files just fine! In fact, Mazeman use (.it) for its music as proof!
SPRITE WARRIOR:
Free, open-source & crossplatform pixel art editor (currently under construction).
User avatar
pyrometal
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Score: 86 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby asmodeus » Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:28 pm

pyrometal wrote:I never had these problems... That's weird... I create and play (.it) files just fine! In fact, Mazeman use (.it) for its music as proof!

Maybe you can show me that music, to be sure that it is independed on the platform or something like that.

Or maybe haven'T really understood what I mean. When the music ends, it starts at the beginning again with GE, the problem is, that this will also be done if there is "position jump". Do you know what that is in a module?
User avatar
asmodeus
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Score: 43 Give a positive score

Re: How Do you add music?

Postby pyrometal » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:53 pm

I never had to use a position jump so I didn't get to see this bug... sorry
SPRITE WARRIOR:
Free, open-source & crossplatform pixel art editor (currently under construction).
User avatar
pyrometal
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Score: 86 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron