activation region problem

Non-platform specific questions.

activation region problem

Postby j2graves » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:18 pm

the main problem I have is that if an actor was created in one region and moves into another region, it will disappear when it falls out of view. how can I make this stop?
No games to my name...
User avatar
j2graves
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:42 pm
Location: on the other side of infinity
Score: 19 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Caaz Games » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:20 pm

clone actor in one riegeon and the other?
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby j2graves » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:22 pm

an actor follows the main actor at a slightly slower pase. main actor enters another region and so does the other actor. while both are in the new region, the other actor will disappear if it is no longer in view.
No games to my name...
User avatar
j2graves
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:42 pm
Location: on the other side of infinity
Score: 19 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Caaz Games » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:25 pm

how about a create actor event in the characters destroy actor make it create its self in the other riegeon
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Caaz Games » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:29 pm

Code: Select all
CreateActor("Destroyedactor", "icon", "(none)", "(none)", 1, 0, false);

it will keep creating itself to the right
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby j2graves » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:35 pm

it has to be in the same position as it was when it entered the activation region.
No games to my name...
User avatar
j2graves
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:42 pm
Location: on the other side of infinity
Score: 19 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Caaz Games » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:37 pm

hmm maybe you could have the character walk faster
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby edh » Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:53 pm

Overlap activation regions?

Another idea I had was check the receive events when out of vision box in the actor control.
User avatar
edh
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:17 am
Location: Maine, USA
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby pyrometal » Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:22 am

Activation Regions are a real pain... I spent 2-3 hours today, trying to figure out how to get a character entering a door and warping to another location without being reset to its original position. I ended up doing so by destroying the entering character and creating a clone of that actor at the new location while simultaneously warping the view there as well. I also had to use timers to correct a handful of other bugs/glitches that were occuring.
SPRITE WARRIOR:
Free, open-source & crossplatform pixel art editor (currently under construction).
User avatar
pyrometal
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Kingston, ON, Canada
Score: 86 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby j2graves » Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:28 pm

I've had other problems with activation regions like some objects don't apper. However, I have no choice but to use them otherwise my game will run like 0.005 fps :x
No games to my name...
User avatar
j2graves
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:42 pm
Location: on the other side of infinity
Score: 19 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:52 pm

Activation region is useless for me...
I never use it :roll:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Kalladdolf » Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:25 pm

pyrometal wrote:Activation Regions are a real pain... I spent 2-3 hours today, trying to figure out how to get a character entering a door and warping to another location without being reset to its original position. I ended up doing so by destroying the entering character and creating a clone of that actor at the new location while simultaneously warping the view there as well. I also had to use timers to correct a handful of other bugs/glitches that were occuring.


my method of doing it, if I do it at all :wink:

for different levels, I use different .dat files and use the loadgame function, saves me loadsa trouble. the only thing you gotta take care of is the saving and loading of the variables.
but otherwise...
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:07 pm

==Kalladdolf== wrote:I use different .dat files for different levels

Very correct...
But if you wanna make stand alone game... :roll:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby Kalladdolf » Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

then I guess I have a problem.
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: activation region problem

Postby edh » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:47 pm

did you get a solution for this, yet?
User avatar
edh
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:17 am
Location: Maine, USA
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron