End of Game Menu!

Talk about making games.

End of Game Menu!

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:03 pm

Okay, I have ANOTHER bug! This time, it's when the 5 minutes are over on my Count-down timer, and all events for Players 1-4 should be disabled, and my End of Game Menu should pop-up. Unfortunately, it doesn't want to do either one of those things. I have my commands start under the timer "endofGame"as an IF statement:
Code: Select all
(Script under Timer 1000 (1000ms))
if(Minute.textNumber <0)
{
    DestroyTimer("timer 1000");
    Minute.textNumber = 0;
    CreateTimer("Event Actor", "endOfGame", 1000);
}


I had put in the events after it, but they don't work anyways. I am thinking that perhaps I should use "Minute.textNumber = 0 && seconds.textNumber == 0" instead
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:38 pm

hello?
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:21 pm

How are you stopping the player events and show the menu?
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:32 pm

I am using EventDisable for players, and CreateActors for the menu, letters, and buttons.
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby willg101 » Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:20 pm

Are you letting the textNumber go below 0? (Sorry if this is obvious)
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:45 am

I'm positive that the game reads Minute.textNumber to less than 0, since I have an action to always keep the timer at 0:00 once the Minute goes below 0.
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby willg101 » Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:43 pm

Right, but if the clock is at 0:00 then GE reads that as 0, not less than 0... :?
http://www.wish-games.com
Old betas now available!!
User avatar
willg101
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:08 am
Location: West Michigan
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Sat Nov 19, 2005 7:45 pm

So, do you think I should use some C conditions, such as
Code: Select all
Minute.textNumber == 0 && seconds.textNumber == 0
? You know what? I think I'll try that.
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

All done here!

Postby CdaMarinersFan » Sat Nov 19, 2005 7:59 pm

Yeah, it works!
Image
User avatar
CdaMarinersFan
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:20 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score


Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest