Arrays to hold x,y position

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby jimmynewguy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:24 pm

Alright so I've never actually arrays and I'm sure there's a LOT better way of doing this. I just need to get 10 x,y locations in an easy to see form like this so i can do things like
Code: Select all
x=pos[0].x;
to put actors where i need them
Code: Select all
Actor pos[9];
And this is what i came up with, pretty bad execution i assume  :lol:
//x position
pos[0].x=15;
pos[1].x=15;
pos[2].x=15;
pos[3].x=15;
pos[4].x=15;
pos[5].x=15;
pos[6].x=15;
pos[7].x=15;
pos[8].x=15;
pos[9].x=15;

//y position
pos[0].y=15;
pos[1].y=15;
pos[2].y=15;
pos[3].y=15;
pos[4].y=15;
pos[5].y=15;
pos[6].y=15;
pos[7].y=15;
pos[8].y=15;
pos[9].y=15;

So can someone teach a guy some arrays, por favor? They seem to be quite useful and if i could just get my foot in the door i feel i could walk myself in :)
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby Fuzzy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:33 pm

Arrays dont have sub names like that.
Code: Select all
xpos[0] = 15;
xpos[1] = 16;


and so on will work.
usage:

Code: Select all
x = xpos[1];


If the array is formed in global code you can predefine them like so

Code: Select all
int xpos[10] = {15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15};
int ypos[10] = {1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10};


or do a 2D array
Code: Select all
int pos[2][10] = {
    {15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15,15},
    {1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10}
};

but I prefer 1D arrays as they are easier to write to disk.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby Fuzzy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:42 pm

Your other option is to form a structure. You have to do it in global code however. This creates a new variable type.
Code: Select all
typedef struct {
    int x0;
    int x1;
    int x2;
    int x3;
    int x4;
    int x5;
    int x6;
    int x7;
    int x8;
    int x9;
} xfield;

and define a variable like this

Code: Select all
xfield xpos;


and then you can say xpos.x0 = 15;

Its a crappy way to do it if all the fields are the same, so use an array.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby jimmynewguy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:27 pm

Thanks fuzzy, i don't know how you do it but that's the first post i've read about arrays that i actually fully understand! :)
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby jimmynewguy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:29 pm

Fuzzy wrote:Arrays dont have sub names like that.

Well i did make it an Actor so it could use subnames but definately not the best way of doing it :lol:
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Arrays to hold x,y position

Postby DilloDude » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:47 am

You could make a struct for storing coordinates that just has two values - x and y - and have an array of them. Or just make two separate arrays.
Image
User avatar
DilloDude
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Nyerellion
Score: 58 Give a positive score


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest