Which libary do i use for GE

Non-platform specific questions.

Which libary do i use for GE

Postby trippola77 » Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:53 pm

which one
ex
#include <iostream>
and which namespace
ex

using namespace std;

I have vista
trippola77
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:05 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Bee-Ant » Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:55 pm

GE included all libraries...so you have no need to include them...
Just write your code down without including library... :D
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby trippola77 » Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:56 pm

when i use cout it says cout is undeclared identifyer
trippola77
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:05 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Bee-Ant » Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:02 pm

Oh...I think GE doesnt has iostream...use strcpy :D
strcpy(myactor.text,"blablabla");
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Fuzzy » Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:16 pm

cout stands for console output. Meaning the screen. cin is console input, meaning the keyboard.

Since GE is purely graphical, cout and cin dont make a lot of sense. Keyboard input is handled differently too. Thus, there is no cout in GE.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Bee-Ant » Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:24 pm

I know that...cout samething with printf right?and printf samething with strcpy...
cin=scanf=gets=??? I think Keydown in GE :lol: :roll:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Game A Gogo » Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:30 pm

Like FUZZY said, GE is not console based C/C++
Look at the documentation>Scripting>Script reference for most of the available functions.
it's available in the help menu
Programming games is an art,
    Respect it.
User avatar
Game A Gogo
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:49 pm
Location: French Canada *laughs*
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby edh » Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:25 am

@trip : if you are looking to output text onto your app, you need a text actor.

Check the documentation on how to add actors http://game-editor.com/docs/gettingstar ... lpanel.htm

From there it's like bee-ant said (strcpy....)

Check this for some info on long text http://game-editor.com/forum/viewtopic. ... rpg+dialog

Check the script reference for what else you can do with functions built into GE http://game-editor.com/docs/script_reference.htm
User avatar
edh
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:17 am
Location: Maine, USA
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Re: Which libary do i use for GE

Postby Bee-Ant » Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:17 am

This is our combo attack for newbie...you're confused right??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron