The LoadGame function

Ideas for Game Editor evolution.

The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:30 pm

Is it also possible to load ge files with the loadgame function?

If not, could this be made?
The reason why I'm saying this, is cuz then you could even make your game demos with the loadgame function,
so others can understand your demo (wouldn't be much use if u only posted your .exe and some .dats)
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Spidy » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:31 pm

yes the load game function is great any one answer the Question plz plz..
Image
VOTE FOR MY SIGNATURE PLEASE.......THANK YOU
User avatar
Spidy
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: http://www.inatonibai.com
Score: 38 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:37 pm

and what I fogot to say, is:
it must certainly be loaded in the game mode (not open it to edit :roll: :lol: )

well, I think that wasn't necessary, cuz I think makslane already knows what I'm talking aboot.
But s.o. without brains might think this makes no sence...
but it does!!!
:D
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Spidy » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:39 pm

u mean u play a game u save game and closed the game and u open game again and load your save game! RIGHT
Image
VOTE FOR MY SIGNATURE PLEASE.......THANK YOU
User avatar
Spidy
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: http://www.inatonibai.com
Score: 38 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:50 pm

no, it doesn't work like that.
for example u got an exported .exe .
u play it.
load game function means:
it closes your current .exe and opens another one.

The question I'm now having if makslane could make it also be able to load .ge files.
got it?

:)
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Spidy » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:51 pm

yep :D
Image
VOTE FOR MY SIGNATURE PLEASE.......THANK YOU
User avatar
Spidy
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: http://www.inatonibai.com
Score: 38 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Game A Gogo » Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:48 am

you mean ged files? it can
Programming games is an art,
    Respect it.
User avatar
Game A Gogo
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:49 pm
Location: French Canada *laughs*
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:23 am

it can???
Great! :D
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Spidy » Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:25 am

thats great :o :D
Image
VOTE FOR MY SIGNATURE PLEASE.......THANK YOU
User avatar
Spidy
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: http://www.inatonibai.com
Score: 38 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:16 am

Hold it right there!
I tried it but it doesn't work!!! :o :(
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Game A Gogo » Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:24 am

Do this:
Code: Select all
LoadGame("Game.ged");

it will work.
If the game is exported, it will remove the extension, I think it still does it.
Programming games is an art,
    Respect it.
User avatar
Game A Gogo
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:49 pm
Location: French Canada *laughs*
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Kalladdolf » Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:13 am

:o
I thought u didn't need the file ending...
so that goes only for geds?


thx btw :)
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby kirby » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:22 pm

My friend make a demo, but is lag... In his old computer. :P He said if he can "LoadGame"... Like Load Pictures, sounds, Grapics, And others. Same as Cavestory. :shock: Wonder how it work? My Friend said he needs the code. :D
kirby
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:32 am
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Bee-Ant » Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:24 am

For example you have 2 games data, data1 and data2
You wanna load data2.ged when you finish data1 right?
And you dont want if anyone could open data2 without open data1 first right?

Make variable called "stage" save in "data" group, in data1 and data2
When you wanna load data2, put this code in data1
Code: Select all
stage=1;
saveVars("data.dat","data");
LoadGame("data2.ged");


And then in data2, in CreateActor of any actor :
Code: Select all
loadVars("data.dat","data");
if(stage!=1)
{
    ExitGame();
}


Soooooooooo........simple right???
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: The LoadGame function

Postby Troodon » Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:35 pm

This is slightly out of topic but does the LoadGame function work for -bat and -com files?
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Next

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest