Question: Mouse Down Event- No Coding Allowed!

Non-platform specific questions.

Question: Mouse Down Event- No Coding Allowed!

Postby Just4Fun » Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:42 pm

There must be an easy way to use Mouse Down Events to change an Actor's animations, but I can't seem to find it.

1. I have 6 separate animations on one Actor.
2. I have 2 actors. (One Actor is for Animations and one Actor is for Mouse Down Events)
3. I want to click on the Mouse Down Event Actor and have the Animation Actor change animations.

I already know how to do this using code, but I do not want to use script for this. Anyone know a way to achive this WITHOUT using the script editor?

As always, any help would be appreciated... :)
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:07 pm

You point out an important thing here.
Events cannot be called directly with Script Editor. Maxslane, maybe you could figure out something like that. A unique Event called "Global Actor" in the Actor Control panel that allows you to program your actor globally, giving it all its general attitudes and actions.
Ex :
Global Actor > Script :
onCreateActor
{
    your code ;
}
onCollision[collided actor,Repeat]
{
    your code
}
It might be of GREAT use for all. Thanks Rachel :P
User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby Just4Fun » Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:56 pm

Hmm,
No takers on my original question? :?:
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:14 pm

In your Mouse Down Event Actor create a Change Animation action and select the Animation actor
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:44 pm

makslane wrote:In your Mouse Down Event Actor create a Change Animation action and select the Animation actor


Yes but what Racke is telling is that she wants to do all this inside the Script Editor.
User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby Just4Fun » Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:08 pm

Well...Ummm, Err, Actually... :oops:

I wish I could take credit for your great Global Event Actor idea Ingrid, but I just want to change animations using the mouse down button (NO SCRIPTING ALLOWED).

The problem: The mouse down event will not work for me with multiple animation changes.

Actor's original Animation is set to Picture.jpg

Mouse Down--> Change Animation -->Picture1.jpg (Works)

Add another Mouse Down ---> Change Animation --> Picture2.jpg
( Doesn't display Picture1.jpg. Jumps to Picture2.jpg)

I want to do all of this without using the script editor. I know how to do this with script, but I don't want to use script.
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:16 pm

You need the action:

change animation next

:cry: ( it doesn't exist )

add

change animation prev
change animation first

and you could build a slideshow app using 4 actors with no scripting!

8)
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby Just4Fun » Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:29 am

Thanks Jazz,
That is just what I thought, but it never hurts to ask. :wink:

You always seem to know what I am up to! (I was just trying some attempts at no code and no game programming in GE using "Mouse Down Event" for a SlideShow!)

Makslane,
What do you think about adding these actions to the feature list
1. change animation next
2. change animation prev
3. change animation first :?:
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby jazz_e_bob » Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:17 am

This would be neat.

It can use the same dropdown menu used to select the animation name!

While you are there include a "random" option to round it off. :wink:
Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming.
User avatar
jazz_e_bob
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Bloke from Cockatoo Creek Australia
Score: 14 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Thu Feb 10, 2005 9:42 am

I know how to do this with script

:oops: Sorry to insist. I'm still on the GlobalActor thing :oops:
You KNOW how to place Events ( like MouseDown Event ) in script :shock: ?
:mrgreen: Please explain :mrgreen:
User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby Just4Fun » Fri Feb 11, 2005 3:05 pm

No, no, no..
I do not place "Mouse Down" Events in the Script Editor.

I meant that I know how to create script to make the slide show.

As far as that script goes, I would simply count the mouse clicks in order to change the animation.

Scripting wasn't what I wanted to use though... :wink:
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby ingsan » Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:17 pm

:mrgreen:
User avatar
ingsan
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:02 pm
Location: Maurician LADY in FRANCE
Score: 6 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest