How do you make your maps?

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

How do you make your maps?

Postby Bee-Ant » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:44 am

By cloning, tiles, generate them through arrays, or how???
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Hblade » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:19 pm

Well I'ma get GE for linux again rather it's crapy or not :D

I make maps using "layers". I build the maps inside an application called TileStudio, then save the map as an image, :D Make the grey part transparent in Gimp and wala theres the level :3 Well atleast the floor layer :D
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Bee-Ant » Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:05 am

I didnt ask you how do you draw them...
I asked you how do you build/generate the map in GE.
:s
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby thunderios » Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:44 am

You can read map as level. I first thought you meant that as well, but because I wasn't certain, I didn't post.
I don't make mini maps yet...
thunderios
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:18 pm
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Bee-Ant » Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:23 am

thunderios wrote:You can read map as level. I first thought you meant that as well, but because I wasn't certain, I didn't post.
I don't make mini maps yet...

This is not what I mean as well :cry:

I mean map is your background, your platform, the actor that form the stage...
Ahhh, how do I explain :cry:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Thanx » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:47 pm

I have an idea for what you mean!
This is the way I imagine building maps:
You have graphics, and load them into one actor, call him the map. Then you determine the size of the map (say 10 x 8)
So depending on the size of the game, I say, you clone them either in GE, or through code.
That's for making it visible.

For making it functional, I say you make an array in code, either a 2-dimensional one, or a one dimensional, with width*height elements. To determine a row there: the row is: (index - (index modulo width))/width. That formula first subtracts the modulo, that is, what element the index is in a row: subtracts it to get a number divideable by the width, then divides with the width. The column number is index modulo width. Watch out, that means the lef-most row is row 0!

The array should be an array of either numbers, or whatever you want to use to describe map elements. If that involves more than 1 variable, then create a struct, with different variables, and array the struct.

When creating the map, cloning in runtime (during the game) you can read these values from anywhere, or generate random values through loops.

A number variable can determine the animindex, or animpos.

When you get a function that would make actions specific to one tile, then use the clone number to do stuff... the clone number will correspond to the numbering in the 1-dimensional array!!! That's how I fit everything together...
Hope that helps! :wink: Hope I got your question right :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyXexDJBv58
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Be4__gww1xQ
These are me and playing the piano (second one with a friend/fellow student)
Hope you watch and enjoy!
User avatar
Thanx
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Home sweet home! :)
Score: 24 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Bee-Ant » Sat May 01, 2010 9:50 am

I didn't ask how to do it either, I asked about your method...Different person must uses different method, I just want to know your method...
Oh well, it seems I would use struct to group the arrays, then save them in binary code to avoid external editing... :)
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Hblade » Sat May 01, 2010 11:01 am

Smart, bee ant :D
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Bee-Ant » Sat May 01, 2010 4:50 pm

Hblade wrote:Smart, bee ant :D

It's not smart, but cheaty...hohoho :twisted:
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: How do you make your maps?

Postby Hblade » Sat May 01, 2010 5:03 pm

lol :P
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 181 Give a positive score


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest