Newbie question - how to make a maze

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby pxm4 » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:31 pm

Hi all, I just started playing with Game Editor and I'm impressed! I've been trying to create a PAC MAN like game and have run into a wall of sorts. I've created the actor, backgrounds, music and a splash screen. However I have some questions about the maze part. I have the main actor moving using the arrow keys with animation. I tried using tiles but the actor just walks right through them! Whats the best way to setup a maze and control the actors path through the maze? I went through the cave man demo but mt tiles don't seem to stop the characters movement. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
pxm4
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:23 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby skydereign » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:39 pm

You have to use PhysicalResponse. Use the tile method, it will help out if you are making more levels. The next thing is to have a collision event for your main actor, pacman. I suggest using the script editor, as using it later will help a lot.

pacman -> Collide(tile actor/repeat) -> Script Editor
Code: Select all
PhysicalResponse(MOVE_EVENT_ACTOR_ONLY, USE_CALCULATED_MASS, 1, 1, 0, 0);


PhysicalResponse will prevent moving through the actors.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby pxm4 » Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:39 am

Hey, awesome. Took me a second to get it to work. Didn't set the repeat so I think it fired then let me walk through. Thanks for the assist! :D
pxm4
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:23 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby ESL » Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:16 am

You can also make a collision into the tile actor and give it a script of x=0 or xvelocity=0
ESL
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:05 am
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby BloodRedDragon » Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:39 pm

ESL, x=0 wont work, that will move the player back to 0 on the x axis. I would have x - or +1, depending on whatever side of the tile he collides with. Also, having thicker walls may help, because they wont be as easy to pass through by accident. :lol:
Current projects:
Techno-Tank Arena: on hold
Techno-Tank SuperPortal (working title): 0.1%
Bowels of Galaxies: 35% (was a bit too optimistic)
User avatar
BloodRedDragon
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: The Underworld
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Re: Newbie question - how to make a maze

Postby krenisis » Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:24 pm

Ok there Is a step by step tutorial section. Not the one that comes with Game Editor but the ones I made. I made a pac-man game tutorial. Click the link in my signature to visit this section. Thank you and good-luck with your games.
Tutorial Database for all beginners click this link
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=8680
krenisis
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:27 pm
Score: 51 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron