Event actor question

Talk about making games.

Event actor question

Postby Troodon » Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:35 pm

Hi,
I have a monster actor that dies when 8 main actors attacks it. I made it with a variable called "defenssi" and when defenssi goes under 1, the monster gets killed. However this kills all the monsters of the game. Is there a way to count for each monster their defenssi value? :? Please answer as quick as possibly.
Thanks
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Postby Oman » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:21 pm

no sorry. Not that i know of.

u could make them seperate actors
that would be a lot of work

i hope there is something im overlooking
i also think this would be a good idea in the future
"Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself." - Max Ehrmann
User avatar
Oman
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 4:00 am
Location: Somewhere out there...
Score: 6 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:51 am

The defenssi variable must be a Actor variable, not a global variable.
To destroy the moster, use:

Code: Select all
DestroyActor("Event Actor");
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Postby Troodon » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:13 pm

Actor variable! I think it's exactly what I need! :shock: How can I make one?
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Postby Hedfone » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:15 pm

just change the variable type from Global to Actor Variable in the drop down box.
(you might have to remake the variable, though cause I dont think VarType can be edited...)
User avatar
Hedfone
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:47 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Postby Troodon » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:19 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops: Ooops, how many times I saw that without seing it! :wink: Thanks!

(once I tried to code how to make physical response only from top side, because I used to use only 'collision any side of actor')
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Postby Hedfone » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:24 pm

:lol: no worries,

Ive done some pretty stupid things in GE myself :D
I once spent half an hour trying to figure out if id' broken GE when I accidentally leant on the shift key :P

(for those of you who don't know, the shift key makes everything snap to a specific location for more accurate placing)

soo, ya we've all been there :D
User avatar
Hedfone
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:47 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Postby Troodon » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:43 pm

:D I remember too my first shift problem. :lol: I tought that my mouse was broken. :wink:
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Postby Oman » Sun Dec 10, 2006 6:18 pm

awsome 'actorvar' ill remember that :D
"Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself." - Max Ehrmann
User avatar
Oman
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 4:00 am
Location: Somewhere out there...
Score: 6 Give a positive score


Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest