Firework Engineer 1.0

Talk about making games.

Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby Rux » Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:06 am

Hello. This here really isn't a game. It is a program you can use to make your own virtual fireworks! :)
There is a mild complexity to it, so here's how to make one.

1. First open up the editor.
2. Click "Save" at the top of the screen, name it, but keep the extension.
3. Click "OK".
4. Now you got a file to work with. So first choose a type of shell you want.
5. Next, you need to choose an "ending". Choose either, Red Stars, Blue Stars, Green Stars, or none at all.
6. Now choose how long it takes to blow up. It says ms, but it is more half seconds.
7. Then choose the speed of the rocket, best results are in the 20's.
8. Now choose the star speed. Best results are 10 and under.
9. Almost done, choose the "Gravity" of the rocket. This will make the rocket move at an angle instead of strait up. to go right just choose a number. To go left, add the minus ( - ) sign then a number.

10. Save your rocket, then go to "Test Rocket" at the bottom right corner of the screen.
Hit space to launch your rocket, or click "Back to Editor".

This is pretty simple, and the graphics are average. Play around with it, see what you can do.

:) Feedback Please :)
Attachments
Firework Engineer.zip
Fireworks Engineer 1.0, by JDM Studios
(1.23 MiB) Downloaded 117 times
I'm not good at coming up with signatures...
User avatar
Rux
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Sitting on your moniter invisable.
Score: 35 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby jimmynewguy » Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:30 pm

preety neat-o im guessing since its 1.0 there will be more features? more features would be awesome, and could you clean up the menu a little bit, it's not neccesary but it would make the engineering just that much better :)
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby Rux » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:14 am

I'm going to change some of the graphics, and add a show editor. I don't think I could get it to save the stuff in the show editor though. though :( .
I'm not good at coming up with signatures...
User avatar
Rux
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Sitting on your moniter invisable.
Score: 35 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby jimmynewguy » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:58 am

you could, and i think you can use arrays to set where they are in a grid
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby Rux » Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:36 am

Ok, this is weird. I'm finished the 1.1 version, but all of a sudden this strange bug appeared. textnumbers won't save/load correctly. Not a single thing was changed, but a bug occured anyway. Why is this? (Im using 1.3.8 by the way) Please help! :(

Here are my codes.

This is the entire code for saving and loading on a mouse button down - button.

Code: Select all
if(msgboxID == 0)// Ignore this. This works fine.
{
    LoadGame("Firework Engineer.exe");
}
else if(msgboxID == 1) //This code is for saving. The ID var just identifies weather it is saving or loading.
{
    rocketGravity = rocketgravity.textNumber;
    rocketlifeVar = rocketlife.textNumber;
    rocketspeedVar = rocketspeed.textNumber;
    starspeedVar = starspeed.textNumber;
    shelltype = shelltype;
    stars = stars;
    saveVars(textloadsave.text, "sav");
    ChangeTransparency("msgbox", 1.000000);
}
else if(msgboxID == 2)// This code is for loading.
{
    loadVars(textloadsave.text, "sav");
    rocketgravity.textNumber = rocketGravity;
    rocketlife.textNumber = rocketlifeVar;
    rocketspeed.textNumber = rocketspeedVar;
    starspeed.textNumber = starspeedVar;
    shelltype = shelltype;
    if(shelltype == 0)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("fireworkimage", "shellone", FORWARD);
    }
    else if(shelltype == 1)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("fireworkimage", "shelltwo", FORWARD);
    }
    if(stars == 0)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("endingico", "redstar1.1", FORWARD);
    }
    else if(stars == 1)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("endingico", "bluestar1.1", FORWARD);
    }
    else if(stars == 2)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("endingico", "greenstar1.1", FORWARD);
    }
    else if(stars == 3)
    {
        ChangeAnimation("endingico", "noendingicon", FORWARD);
    }
    ChangeTransparency("msgbox", 1.000000);
}

Plus, on all the input actors, on draw actor-
Code: Select all
savvar = textNumber;

Savvar is the var for the specific input actor.
I'm not good at coming up with signatures...
User avatar
Rux
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Sitting on your moniter invisable.
Score: 35 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby Caaz Games » Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:46 am

hey cool game... i remember another fireworks game... i think it was made on the 4th of july though :D
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby jimmynewguy » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:32 am

can you show us exactally what errors happened?
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby skydereign » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:17 pm

If you really didn't change anything, then there might not be anything wrong. A similar thing happens to me. If I use global code, sometimes it does not register parts of the code when I click add, which will mess things up, so if you try again, it may work.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Firework Engineer 1.0

Postby Rux » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:53 pm

jimmynewguy wrote:can you show us exactally what errors happened?


It saves a file, but won't set the actual actors in which you type the rocketspeed, rocket life, Star speed etc.
However it does load the shell type and the ending type.
Another odd thing, is that the input actors now have parents. I undid a parent and the glitch didn't occur, only to the affected input actor.


EDIT: Hey wait a minute! Would transparency have to do with the problem?

It does! In 1.1, there is a new interface with pop up menus. Instead of transparency, I just move them out of reach. When you click on a button, they move into reach. I'll post 1.1 right now!
I'm not good at coming up with signatures...
User avatar
Rux
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Sitting on your moniter invisable.
Score: 35 Give a positive score


Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron