VOLUME PROBLEM

Non-platform specific questions.

VOLUME PROBLEM

Postby jimmynewguy » Sat May 09, 2009 6:43 pm

I want the variable volume to equal the musicvol so i can save volume in my game to load for settings....wow that sounds stupid. :lol: it uses a slide bar just to let you know.

Demo to show you what i mean.
Attachments
SLIDEBAR.zip
(176.63 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
Last edited by jimmynewguy on Sun May 10, 2009 2:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Slide bar issue

Postby skydereign » Sat May 09, 2009 11:21 pm

Not sure what you were looking for, I somewhat fixed the actual sliding, but did not implement the saving.
Attachments
SLIDEBAR.zip
(186.44 KiB) Downloaded 101 times
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Slide bar issue

Postby jimmynewguy » Sat May 09, 2009 11:40 pm

thanx, but i knew how to do that part lol....i just don't know why the variable won't be a decimal i wanted the variable "volume" to equal the musicvol :)
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Slide bar issue

Postby skydereign » Sun May 10, 2009 12:09 am

But you know how to save, what is the problem? All you would need to do is save it. musicvol goes from 0-1. So why don't you want the decimal, or is that not what you meant...
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Slide bar issue

Postby jimmynewguy » Sun May 10, 2009 1:38 am

no....for some reason the variable "volume" will only be 1 or 0 when i say "volume = musicvol;" it wont be like .9 or .4 or any decimal just 1 or 0
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Slide bar issue

Postby jimmynewguy » Sun May 10, 2009 2:21 am

i even got rid of the slide bar, look.
make a vaiable called "volume"
then make a text actor called volumetext or something.

then on keydown for up and down make volume ++ -- accordingly, are you with me?
then for drawactor on volumetext have textNumber = volume; musicvol = (volume/10); then have music play. if the "volume" variable is 10 or higher music will be hearable, if it's 9 or less then music doesn't play at all had my speakers all the way up i was so mad..........

that's what i'm talking about.
i don't understand why this doesn't work :oops:
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: VOLUME PROBLEM

Postby makslane » Sun May 10, 2009 3:09 am

Make sure the variable colume is real (float) not a integer variable.
Game Editor is an open source game creator software that's wants to pay it's developers to keep evolving.
If you like Game Editor, make a review!
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Re: VOLUME PROBLEM

Postby jimmynewguy » Sun May 10, 2009 3:19 am

are you kidding me? makslane i love you in the most heterosexual way possible :)
ive never used real's before lol i didn't know what they even ment :lol:
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron