Put different actors in one group

Non-platform specific questions.

Put different actors in one group

Postby NightOfHorror » Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:20 pm

I am making a Dodge-ball game, and there may be more than hundred different people. They all have one of the eight templates, one being specifically only for females, but I wanted to give each person their respective stats. The problem is that is more than a hundred different people to code, so I wanted to know if there is any different ways of doing it, that makes it faster, but gives each person their own stats. I got an idea, except then people would be not different from one another; there would be groups that each group has the same stats with each other.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12136
"I have not failed. I just found 10,000 ways that wont work." quoted by Thomas Edison.
Over the year, I decided my motto for me is I am knowledgeable, but not practical.
User avatar
NightOfHorror
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:50 am
Location: Cedar Hill, MO, of the USA
Score: 51 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby skydereign » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:06 am

You should probably use a single actor for the players. Linking them can be done with variables, and you can use this to make them interact differently by type and index. If you want them to all have their own unique stats, than you will have to write out the values yourself.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby NightOfHorror » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:21 am

Thanks skydereign. :)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12136
"I have not failed. I just found 10,000 ways that wont work." quoted by Thomas Edison.
Over the year, I decided my motto for me is I am knowledgeable, but not practical.
User avatar
NightOfHorror
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:50 am
Location: Cedar Hill, MO, of the USA
Score: 51 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby ESL » Sun May 19, 2013 1:00 am

I see what you mean about using one actor with different animations. How do you use separate animations for the actor within the game?
ESL
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:05 am
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby skydereign » Sun May 19, 2013 1:09 am

ESL wrote:How do you use separate animations for the actor within the game?

Umm... you add multiple animations, and use ChangeAnimation to change to the one you want it to be.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby ESL » Sun May 19, 2013 1:47 am

OK, you can have the same actor on screen simultaneously doing multiple animations?
ESL
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:05 am
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby skydereign » Sun May 19, 2013 1:53 am

ESL wrote:OK, you can have the same actor on screen simultaneously doing multiple animations?

You can't have two animations for a single clone. But, you can have multiple clones of the same actor, each with a different animation.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Put different actors in one group

Postby NightOfHorror » Sun May 19, 2013 4:54 am

I forgot all about this. Maybe I should pick it up again, but then again, the real life tournament never happened. Not much really to do. :P
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12136
"I have not failed. I just found 10,000 ways that wont work." quoted by Thomas Edison.
Over the year, I decided my motto for me is I am knowledgeable, but not practical.
User avatar
NightOfHorror
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:50 am
Location: Cedar Hill, MO, of the USA
Score: 51 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron