Database

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Database

Postby Troodon » Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:17 pm

Can I make a game that loads information from a database created for example with SQL?

I'm working on a game that uses quite much information and I'm worrying about framerates dropping if the ged file would take care of all the calculations.
I can't die, I already tried
~on the forums since GE 1.3.3~
User avatar
Troodon
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: HELL
Score: 56 Give a positive score

Re: Database

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun May 20, 2012 5:36 pm

Reading data from external file and then stored them in an array?
Yes you can. But the problem is, GE is quite inaccurate in reading external data in decimal mode (using fscanf()).
Will do better in hexadecimal (using fread()).
So in this case, you need your own "data-generator" to store all the information to a file in hex, and then load it via your game.
Much like loadVars() and saveVars() functions :)
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: Database

Postby skydereign » Sun May 20, 2012 7:34 pm

Bee-Ant wrote:But the problem is, GE is quite inaccurate in reading external data in decimal mode (using fscanf()).

I've only experienced problems with fscanf when dealing with windows exports (which makslane has fixed). Does this happen elsewhere for you?
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Database

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon May 21, 2012 12:46 am

Yup, windows export.
It always messed up whenever I add "newline" a.k.a. "enter".
Well, actually was experiencing this as well with Linux
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron