i need to know how to make it so u can move

Non-platform specific questions.

i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby someone » Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:51 am

how? :|
someone
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 2:04 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby Fuzzy » Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:09 am

open game editor. click help. there are many tutorials that will walk you through this and other things.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby catacomber » Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:42 am

Trajecto had a good tutorial here but I can't find it. Try this:

http://www.trajectorylabs.com/Walking_C ... orial.html

I think you should be posting in "General", lol. That's not really an advanced topic, but enjoy GE. : ) There's always someone who will try to help if they can.
User avatar
catacomber
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 5:36 pm
Score: 10 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby DST » Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:30 am

Two things about movement that most ppl don't know about:

if you use x+=4 instead of xvelocity+=4, then you don't have to add a keyup to stop. :)

and

Often, you can get smoother animation with less code by using "NO_CHANGE" in your AnimationChange rather than
using "FORWARD".

When in doubt....download some demos! Most of the questions i see asked are already implemented in the great demos posted in the demos section!
It's easier to be clever than it is to be kind.
http://www.lostsynapse.com
http://www.dstgames.com
User avatar
DST
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: 20 minutes into the future
Score: 151 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby catacomber » Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:02 am

I read somewhere that the +- movement of your sprite along the x,y axis should be in relation to the width of the sprite to make it a really smooth movement. So the amount of +- x or y movement should equal the pixel width of your sprite.
User avatar
catacomber
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 5:36 pm
Score: 10 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby xr2alex99 » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:27 am

im good with movements
i have it left/right
my animations change
perfect walls and cool speedtrails
things folow me when i run its awesome
gravity/= yvelocity = yvelocity +5; you will fall down
collison with the ground prevents permanent falling
x=x+5; or x=x-5;
key down/script editor/ moves you left or right
|=y --=x the grid
(\___/) My bunny :twisted:
(=' . '=) is a king of :twisted:
(")___(") awesome :twisted:
User avatar
xr2alex99
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:48 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: i need to know how to make it so u can move

Postby DST » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:47 pm

catacomber wrote:I read somewhere that the +- movement of your sprite along the x,y axis should be in relation to the width of the sprite to make it a really smooth movement. So the amount of +- x or y movement should equal the pixel width of your sprite.


That could be kind of choppy. Instead of being the width of your sprite, perhaps it should be a factor of your sprite.
i.e. if your sprite is 36 px, use 6. if its 64 pix, use 8.
It's easier to be clever than it is to be kind.
http://www.lostsynapse.com
http://www.dstgames.com
User avatar
DST
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: 20 minutes into the future
Score: 151 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron