Change parent to the actor created

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Change parent to the actor created

Postby jimmynewguy » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:32 pm

I want to have enemies create their "collision mask" but when there are clones they all seem to try and parent to the same thing. I have this code and have tried a couple other that all seem to not work. Can anyone help?
Code: Select all
Actor * named = CreateActor("enemy_collide", "collide", "(none)", "(none)", 0, 16, false);
ChangeParent("Event Actor", named->name);
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: Change parent to the actor created

Postby skydereign » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:44 pm

You want clonename, not name. And you don't need to store the Actor* for this.
Code: Select all
CreateActor("enemy_collide", "collide", "(none)", "(none)", 0, 16, false);
ChangeParent("Event Actor", enemy_collide.clonename);

This will work, because enemy_collide was created in the same event. Normally actor_name.var gets the lowest cloneindexed actor_name, but if one was created, it becomes the default actor_name actor (for the event).
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Change parent to the actor created

Postby jimmynewguy » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:58 pm

Well then, guess I over thought that. Thanks sky!
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest