The Grid

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Re: The Grid

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:35 am

1 Frame = what second?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby makslane » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:39 am

It depends of the frame rate of your game.
Game Editor is an open source game creator software that's wants to pay it's developers to keep evolving.
If you like Game Editor, make a review!
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby jimmynewguy » Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:37 am

the unchanged frame rate for GE is 30fps (30 frames per second) you can change this in config -> game properties -> frame rate
Working on a probably too ambitious project! Wild-west-adventure-RPG-shooter-thing.
User avatar
jimmynewguy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:27 pm
Score: 89 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Kalladdolf » Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:26 am

Yay, 1 fps is teh b3st *shot*.
(For instance on an old mixture between a calculator and a tetris-console I once had...)
User avatar
Kalladdolf
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Germany
Score: 120 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby factorman2 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:50 pm

Kalladdolf wrote:Yay, 1 fps is teh b3st *shot*.
(For instance on an old mixture between a calculator and a tetris-console I once had...)

1 fps can be too much if you talking about gmod but games that you have to think very fast
that would be fine.
I know, you don't remember me.
factorman2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 7:13 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby BlarghNRawr » Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:22 pm

uhm
i think you might have it backwards
1 fps is really slow. am i wrong?
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Fuzzy » Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:44 pm

1 frame is 0.0333333333 seconds, if you set FPS to 30. That is 33 milliseconds.

60 FPS is 0.016666666, (16 milliseconds) and GE has a minimum timer limit of 12 milliseconds, so 75 FPS (0.0133333333) is pretty much the practical limit. You might be able to draw faster, but its going to cause you timing problems.

Most humans cannot see much faster than 30 FPS anyway.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby factorman2 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:52 pm

Fuzzy wrote:1 frame is 0.0333333333 seconds, if you set FPS to 30. That is 33 milliseconds.

60 FPS is 0.016666666, (16 milliseconds) and GE has a minimum timer limit of 12 milliseconds, so 75 FPS (0.0133333333) is pretty much the practical limit. You might be able to draw faster, but its going to cause you timing problems.

Most humans cannot see much faster than 30 FPS anyway.


actually, the higher the fps, the slower the game, in some cases, i had alot of fps in gmod and it ws slower than mollases (sarcasim) it was very slow though.
I know, you don't remember me.
factorman2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 7:13 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Bee-Ant » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:43 pm

I can make Timer with 10 milisecond.
Btw, whats the loop timer in Draw Actor? It seems 10 milisecond?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby makslane » Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:14 am

The Draw Actor event is called in each frame, so, if your frame rate is 30, the Draw Actor event will be called each 33ms
Game Editor is an open source game creator software that's wants to pay it's developers to keep evolving.
If you like Game Editor, make a review!
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:49 am

Oh...
But it seems its faster than 33ms.
What about the Timer itself, does framerate affect it?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby makslane » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:51 am

The timers are independent of the frame rate.
Game Editor is an open source game creator software that's wants to pay it's developers to keep evolving.
If you like Game Editor, make a review!
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:05 am

Back to the grid, whats the limit of the axis?
It seems its imposible to be unlimited...
I think from -999999999 to 999999999
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Fuzzy » Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:14 am

The axis are floats, so its hard to say what the limit is. After very big numbers(billions) you will get odd effects.
Mortal Enemy of IF....THEN(and Inspector Gadget)

Still ThreeFingerPete to tekdino
User avatar
Fuzzy
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Plymostic Programmer
Score: 95 Give a positive score

Re: The Grid

Postby Bee-Ant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:41 am

And is there a loop system? I mean when you hit the +limit, you will be at -limit. Because when i make an actor, put yvelocity++; and let it fall, after sometime it will back to the screen from up. is this what you mean with odd effect?
User avatar
Bee-Ant
 
Posts: 3723
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: http://www.instagram.com/bee_ant
Score: 210 Give a positive score

PreviousNext

Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest