Need help with a problem

Non-platform specific questions.

Need help with a problem

Postby jcflysrc » Wed May 04, 2011 8:22 am

Hi all, my first post here, so YES, I'm a noob. But anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to make an actor, an arrow, come from the side of the view at random intervals. I'm trying to build a platform game, and I can't figure it out. My wish is for it to come randomly, and at different places on the screen with regard to y coordinates. Not too fast, but not too slow either. I did the Moon Defender tutorial so I kinda got an idea about it, but I need the arrows to track straight across the map, like an arrow would. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Also how do I make the snakes in the caveman tutorial move from one side of the platform and then change animation direction, and go back to the other side. For some reason the tutorial gets to a point and then just kinda does some erratic mouse pointer movements, and then ends. Again thanks. Peace!
jcflysrc

Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: Need help with a problem

Postby skydereign » Wed May 04, 2011 6:59 pm

For the first question, you can use a timer set to random. The attatched image will create a timer (make it for the view) that triggers anytime from 1-2 seconds. On the timer event from the view, use the following code.
view -> Timer (createArrows) -> Script Editor
Code: Select all
CreateActor("arrow", "arrow_left", "(none)", "(none)", width, rand(height), false)->xvelocity=-2;

Just in case, at the end of the CreateActor, I put ->xvelocity=-2, which all that does is take the actor you just created and sets its xvelocity to -2. That way it will be moving, without the create actor event.

To answer your other question, people tend to just have the snake either move a certain distance, time, or have wire regions to signify when to turn. Their are other ways, so if you want something better just ask.
Attachments
randomTimer.png