Clone actor for making tiles.

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

Clone actor for making tiles.

Postby Hblade » Tue May 26, 2009 3:48 pm

Hey I tried making a tile editor of my own, because I seen other people do it, and I want to say, I dont want someone to make it for me, jsut explain how. I have the tiles perfect and all but when you press enter or something, how would you have it place that tile with that animpos? And in that exact position? If I knew that I could probably do the rest, it's just frustrating because I am not that good at C, and I know DST was trying to help all of those other times, but it was confusing so if anyone can explain how to make this, I'd apreciate it.
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
Hblade

Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: Clone actor for making tiles.

Postby skydereign » Tue May 26, 2009 11:16 pm

Well, when it comes to this, you could use a 2d array, as it would be an exact representation. One problem is making a single actor type to recognize the two dimensions of the array. Well, if you have a 3x3 grid, then in array subs, it looks like this
([0][0]) ([1][0]) ([2][0])
([0][1]) ([1][1]) ([2][1])
([0][2]) ([1][2]) ([2][2])
-sorry this diagram might be confusing
This is fine, as when you clone them, it follows cloneindex for the first three. So the clone needs to know which array sub it is, you will need cloneindex and use the xy gird size to find which. The 4th tile would need to be linked to [0][1]. Since the x dimension is 3, we can use its cloneindex of 3 to determine its x and y.
x would be cindex%SizeY // 3%3 ==0
y would be cindex/SizeY // 3/3 ==1

You could also use a normal array and the referencing would be done different. I use a one dimensional struct array which holds the xy, since only the clone needs to know those coordinates, for the most part, and that each clone can find its own xy as shown above. But it would be easier to use the method suggested above.