Making Icons And Resetting The Game

Game Editor comments and discussion.

Making Icons And Resetting The Game

Postby Pete Holland Jr. » Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:55 am

Yippee! My first project is almost complete! I was having a terrible time, so I started over from scratch, and it's going very smoothly. It's not the greatest game in the world, but I'm quite happy with how it's going.

There remains two more concerns, though, and I'm hoping someone here can help.

1) Creating an icon. The instructions say that you can give GE an .ico file and when it makes the program (for Windows, not Linux), it will have that image instead of the smiling Pac Man. So I used the GIMP and made an .ico file. Didn't work, a test compile created the Pac Man. I'm guessing I did something wrong in creating the .ico file. Are there certain guidelines (color resolution, specific size, etc.) that I need to follow?

2) I want to allow the player to reset the game at the end instead of just exiting the program completely and restarting it. The best way I've figured to do this is to create a global variable. As the game moves, the variable increases with the number of pixels the view travels. When the game resets, I simply move the view back until the variable is 0, and that's where the game starts. Sound in theory. But I'm wondering if there's an easier way. The first screen has a couple of objects that appear at no other point in the game. Is there a way to center the screen on them or move it relative to them with scripting rather than going through all the stuff with the display?
Pete Holland Jr.
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:15 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby Sgt. Sparky » Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:59 am

1)32x32 is the correct Icon size(.ico , yes) :)
2)use the loadgame function to restart it,
example,
Code: Select all
LoadGame("My_Project");

after you use that code,
you must export the game to whatever executable then you can take it from there :D
http://game-editor.com/forum/tp-3214-Sa ... ters-.html
that is a Game I just recently started workin' on :D
Image
Random Links:
viewtopic.php?p=19474#19474
Right now (10/14/2009) I'm working on some C++ projects, but I might be able to help if you have some Game Editor questions. :)
User avatar
Sgt. Sparky
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:28 pm
Location: Somewhere out there, beneath the pale blue sky...
Score: 236 Give a positive score

Postby Pete Holland Jr. » Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:19 am

Sgt. Sparky wrote:1)32x32 is the correct Icon size(.ico , yes) :)


I apologize for this, but it's still not working. I have tried an actual icon making tool as well as the GIMP. The .ico files I make with the GIMP just show up as a black box in Explorer. The files made with the actual .ico file editor show up fine in Explorer, but they still will not appear as icons for the resulting program. I've altered the settings from 32 bbp to 16 bbp and everything I can think of. I even tried an actual Windows .ico file that came with the system. Compiling 1945 still produced the Pacman instead of the icon the source code had specified. Am I doing something wrong with the settings to make this happen? Or is there something in Game Editor that I need to adjust? Or is this just some bug in the program?
Pete Holland Jr.
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:15 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby makslane » Sun Mar 25, 2007 1:36 pm

Send me the project, so I can see what's wrong.
makslane
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:47 pm
Score: 182 Give a positive score

Hmm...Interesting....

Postby Pete Holland Jr. » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:11 pm

I think I figured out the problem.

All the files, sounds, pics, and the GED file, are on the C branch of the C drive, not in a subfolder.

I decided to take the Snail Race demo and add an .ico file to that. I put it in the data folder. Just to see what would happen, I compiled the program into its default directory, the data folder of the demo code.

The compiled program is there with the .ico.

I tried it with several .ico files, including the ones I made with the GIMP. It works.

It appears that, for the icon replacement to work, the files have to be in a subdirectory, not the main branch of the C drive. It's working fine now.

Sorry to bother you.
Pete Holland Jr.
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:15 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby Sgt. Sparky » Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:17 pm

there is a simpler way to do that,
go to config/game properties and select your .ico file you made and save the game :D
Image
Random Links:
viewtopic.php?p=19474#19474
Right now (10/14/2009) I'm working on some C++ projects, but I might be able to help if you have some Game Editor questions. :)
User avatar
Sgt. Sparky
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:28 pm
Location: Somewhere out there, beneath the pale blue sky...
Score: 236 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron