A "What... How?" Problem.. Please help someone

Non-platform specific questions.

A "What... How?" Problem.. Please help someone

Postby Hblade » Tue Dec 08, 2009 7:11 pm

OMFG... Okay I have this code
Code: Select all
if (newgame == 2)
{
        ChangeZDepth("blackbg", 9.000000);
    blackbg.transp-=.02;
    musicvol-=.02;
    enable = 0;
    newcount++;
    menu = 0;
    if (newcount == 57)
    {
        MoveTo("view", 0.000000, 0.000000, 1000.000000, "viewer", "");
        DestroyActor("stars1");
        DestroyActor("stars2");
        new2 = 1;
    }
    if (new2 == 1)
    {
        blackbg.transp += .02;
    }
    if (newcount == 100)
    {
        newgame = 0;
    }
}


Now, shouldn't that mean that... blackbg should be in front of everything else. Well for some unknown reason it's not in front of 2 text actors and it's very annoying because the text actors you can see bouncing around the screen for about 2 frames because the view moved, but this is kind of annoying that I cant have it fade out to the text

Making simple effects is so hard...
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: A "What... How?" Problem.. Please help someone

Postby Rux » Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:43 pm

Are the text actors parent to an actor that has a 9.1 or higher zdepth? If they have a parent, their z depths would be messed up.
(EXAMPLE: The text actors a parented to the view, which has, by default, a zdepth of 1)
I'm not good at coming up with signatures...
User avatar
Rux
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Sitting on your moniter invisable.
Score: 35 Give a positive score

Re: A "What... How?" Problem.. Please help someone

Postby Hblade » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:56 am

The text actors have no parrent's at all
Subscribe to my YouTube? - Yes| No
User avatar
Hblade
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:14 pm
Score: 181 Give a positive score

Re: A "What... How?" Problem.. Please help someone

Postby skydereign » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:47 am

If the background is parented to the view, than the background actor will have the same zdepth as the view. So you would need to change the view's zdepth, not the background, or child actor. The parent will always have the lowest zdepth, and all child actors will have equal zdepth as the parent, but can have varying levels within the parent child zdepth... That might not have made sense, but pretty much change the view zdepth, and that should work, assuming you parented the background to the view.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron