FPS

Game Editor comments and discussion.

FPS

Postby BlarghNRawr » Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:52 am

i know you can change the FPS in the middle of game play... but how???

it would be useful for things in slow motion :D
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby DarkParadox » Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:39 pm

umm....
you can't, you can only look at the rate of the FPS by using realFPS, which is a READ ONLY VARIABLE.
User avatar
DarkParadox
 
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:32 pm
Location: USA, Florida.
Score: 84 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby DilloDude » Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:33 am

You can however create your own variable to do slow-mo.
Image
User avatar
DilloDude
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Nyerellion
Score: 58 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby BlarghNRawr » Sun Nov 09, 2008 3:20 am

-_-

lame... then this should be in feature requests
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby DilloDude » Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:57 am

If you make it yourself, you can keep the original fps, making it look smooth, whereas if you slowed the fps down, it would look jerky.
Image
User avatar
DilloDude
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Nyerellion
Score: 58 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby feral » Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:30 am

The easiest way is simply to have a "time loop" in your View Actor

EG:
Code: Select all
int timeloop=1000000 //or whatever current "slow-mo" needs

for (i=1;i <=timeloop);i++)
{
//do nothing but wait
}
User avatar
feral
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am
Score: 47 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby feral » Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:18 pm

The easiest way is simply to have a "time loop" in your View Actor


actually, I sort of posted that without thinking too much :(

a "time loop" will work and is easy , but will VARY IN SPEED depending on the speed of the processor the game is playing on..

you are better off using timers and/or preferably the games "frame count" - I prefer the games "frame count" as it always depends on the speed the game is actually running at, whereas timers are dependent on the actual clock.

This means, for example, that if you slow your game by pausing using a timer.. the pause period will always be the same regardless of whether the game is running fast ( good PC ) or slow ( bad PC), where as the frame count will always be the the equivalent of the games running speed as it depends entirely on how fast the game is running on the PC..

This also helps , for example, if "Windows" suddenly decides to do some background processing tasks and the game slows down, the frame count will as well as it is tied to the game loop, which means your "pause" period will match the game speed , BUT, a timer will not, as it depends on an outside resource ( the PC clock) and as such it will always be the same speed regardless of the game..

see also this post
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5907&p=41281&hilit=frames#p41281

feral

see
User avatar
feral
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am
Score: 47 Give a positive score

Re: FPS

Postby BlarghNRawr » Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:35 am

thnx :D ^^
Download Game Music
current projects:
Bold! ?% Started mechanics
Unnamed puzzle game 60% --i need a name!--
User avatar
BlarghNRawr
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:36 am
Location: Not using G-E anymore. Now using Source SDK.
Score: 27 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron