extra life

Game Editor comments and discussion.

extra life

Postby frozonfire » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:07 am

I need help on making EXTRA LIFE. Not a health bar, extra life
frozonfire
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:32 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jj2197 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:12 am

Like an animation of an extra life.
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby frozonfire » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:17 am

i.e. Mario falls in a pit and dies. He had 5 lives earlier but now has 4.
frozonfire
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:32 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jj2197 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:34 am

Do you mean making an EXTRA LIFE. Like as in an animation/sprite.
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby frozonfire » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:38 am

like in lives.
frozonfire
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:32 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby frozonfire » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:41 am

I.E.

Life = 5

Dies

Life = 4
frozonfire
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:32 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby jj2197 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:52 am

So you talking about how to make an actor have one less life when he dies. Correct
Making Games == complex
User avatar
jj2197
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:01 am
Location: St. george
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby frozonfire » Fri Aug 05, 2005 4:07 am

yes
frozonfire
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:32 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Postby ondy1985 » Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:14 pm

You'll need an integer variable that will store the number of lives the player has. Name it e.g. 'Lives' (or whatever). On game start you run the following script:
Code: Select all
Lives = 5;


When player dies, run this script:
Code: Select all
if (--Lives == 0) ExitGame();


Hope it helps.
User avatar
ondy1985
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Slovakia
Score: 1 Give a positive score

Postby Just4Fun » Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:00 pm

Or if you are changing to a different Activation Region (ie Level 1) use:
if (--Lives == 0)
{
view.x = -120;//insert your numbers for Level 1 Activation Region here.
view.y = -160;//insert your numbers for Level 1 Activation Region here.
}


Incidently, if you are new to this great program, it would serve you well to work through the tutorials and read the docs. Game Editor is very powerful, and deceptively easy to use, but it is like every program, it takes some time and study to learn the ins and outs.

:wink:
I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

** Makslane == Genious **
Just4Fun
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:19 am
Location: USA: Washington State; West Coast
Score: 6 Give a positive score


Return to GE - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest