Timer wont change variable value

Non-platform specific questions.

Timer wont change variable value

Postby Zehper48 » Sun May 06, 2007 3:37 pm

i have a timer that is 25000 ms long and i added an action to and actor so after 25000 it would change the value of a variable to 0 but it didnt the code i used to change the value is
Code: Select all
useage==0;

maybe my code isnt right but what ever it is, its messing me up
User avatar
Zehper48
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:34 am
Location: Advanced Noob
Score: 4 Give a positive score

Postby Caaz Games » Sun May 06, 2007 4:49 pm

use only one "=" thingy, like this
Code: Select all
useage = 0;
I hope it helped! :D
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Postby Zehper48 » Sun May 06, 2007 6:28 pm

i changed the code but it still doesnt work
User avatar
Zehper48
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:34 am
Location: Advanced Noob
Score: 4 Give a positive score

Postby Caaz Games » Sun May 06, 2007 8:50 pm

what does it go with , like the thing that looks some thing like this
Code: Select all
if(useage==0)
{
      The action
}
You are welcome to join my forum. 4 active members lol but it's a cool place. active... much talking :D it's fun!
http://caaz.freeforums.org/
User avatar
Caaz Games
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:09 am
Location: California....knows how to party!
Score: 25 Give a positive score

Postby Zehper48 » Mon May 07, 2007 12:07 am

nothing, just after my timer my actor is supposed to change the value of "useage" but its not changing
User avatar
Zehper48
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:34 am
Location: Advanced Noob
Score: 4 Give a positive score

Postby Sgt. Sparky » Mon May 07, 2007 12:44 am

did you wait 25 seconds?
(that is how long 25000 MS is.)
I do not know what the problem could be,
exept if you had the timer event created for one actor and you activated it with the wrong actor. :(

have a text actor that has this code on its draw actor event,

Code: Select all
textNumber = usage;

:)
if you are still having problems tell me what the timer options/settings are or just send me the .ged and data. :D
Image
Random Links:
viewtopic.php?p=19474#19474
Right now (10/14/2009) I'm working on some C++ projects, but I might be able to help if you have some Game Editor questions. :)
User avatar
Sgt. Sparky
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:28 pm
Location: Somewhere out there, beneath the pale blue sky...
Score: 236 Give a positive score

Re: Timer wont change variable value

Postby Sgt. Sparky » Mon May 07, 2007 12:47 am

Zehper48 wrote:i have a timer that is 25000 ms long and i added an action to and actor so after 25000 it would change the value of a variable to 0 but it didnt the code i used to change the value is
Code: Select all
useage==0;

maybe my code isnt right but what ever it is, its messing me up

also,
if you have not set usage to a different value,
usage will still be 0. :(
(an Idea)
Image
Random Links:
viewtopic.php?p=19474#19474
Right now (10/14/2009) I'm working on some C++ projects, but I might be able to help if you have some Game Editor questions. :)
User avatar
Sgt. Sparky
 
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:28 pm
Location: Somewhere out there, beneath the pale blue sky...
Score: 236 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest