Game Optimization Tips

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

Game Optimization Tips

Postby marathon332 » Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:29 pm

This thread is for the discussion of ideas and methods on how to make your games faster and smaller. There wasn't alot available when I searched this forum, so I decided to start this thread.

I'm not an expert yet, so feel free to add your tips here as well. By sharing our ideas everyone will hopefully be able to make better, smoother and more playable games.

Q. Why is optimization needed?

A. Smoother Game Play = Better Game

Your final game will be more enjoyable and less frustrating for the player.

This is especially true for Pocket PC's and Smartphones where memory and processing power are very limited. It's also true for more complex desktop games that contain lots of graphics and complex animations.

Optimization comes down to one thing. Getting the maximum frames per second (FPS) up to the maximum speed we need for our games to run well on our target platform(s).

How fast should our game be? That depends on the type of game and the device you're designing for but Game Editor's default setting is 30 fps which is an industry standard according to what I've read. 30 FPS is also the speed of Internet video and gives pretty smooth playback.

As part of some pre-planning for a game idea I have, I tested Game Editor's performance on a couple of Pocket PC's I own (624 and 312 mhz XScale Processors).

With a complex background and a simple 2 frame animation, they ran at 43 and 77 FPS.

But when I ran the 1945 demo project that contains hundreds of animations, graphics, and a few sounds and music, that performance degraded to as low as 4-6 frames per second in some places in the game. Needless to say, game play was choppy and clearly not acceptable as a final product.