next level

Non-platform specific questions.

next level

Postby erfan71 » Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:59 pm

hello
i am new to game editor and i have some question.

-How can i have levels in my game ?
for example when actor reach to exit door :

after a few second fade out screen and then screen become black and print level 1 finish and then level 2 fade in ?

i must use active region?

how can i use?

please help me?
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby SuperSonic » Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:34 pm

You could create one game called level 1.ged and then create another called level 2.ged. When the player collides with the door (or whatever it is), you could use this code:
Code: Select all
loadgame("level 2.ged");
Does that help? :P
A tree never hits an automobile except in self-defence.

Want to use your joystick or controller with Game Editor? Check out my controller engine =D
User avatar
SuperSonic
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: Anywhere
Score: 72 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:43 pm

so thanks
you help me

very tanks.
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:01 pm

excuse me?

must we close the level1.ged or destroy all of the actor of this level when we reach to end door and we load the level2.ged?
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby skydereign » Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:05 pm

No, using LoadGame will simply load the other game. That means nothing from the previous file will be in the next.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:52 pm

hello again
i do this but something strange was happened :

some of animations and actor from level2.ged don't open!!!!

for example the ground's tiles don't appear and player goes down??

i think just tile actors don't show?

i examine this with 3 or 4 .ged file and for all it happens .

what is wrong?

very very thank you.
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby skydereign » Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:56 pm

This is a bug in gE. Tile actors aren't loaded properly when you enter a game via LoadGame (but only in the editor). If you export your games as executables, it won't have that problem.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sun Jul 22, 2012 5:01 am

I understand

thank you for every things . :D
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sun Jul 22, 2012 5:40 am

excuse me again.
i do it but:
i have level1.ged and level2.ged ans when i export level1.ged then play it when i reach to door level2.ged don't open and game restart from begin of level1.

then i do another way.

i export 2 level1.ged and level2.ged and i have 2 .exe file level1.exe and level2.exe. and when i play level1.exe and i reach the door we go to the level2 without any problem .

is it true? it means that we must export all levels and have various .exe file?
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby skydereign » Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:50 am

You have to export the games, but you don't need to export it as an exe. You only need to export the first game as an exe file. The rest of them can, and should, be .dat files. So, level1.exe, and level2.dat. Make sure level1 loads level2.dat.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: next level

Postby erfan71 » Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:17 am

YEAH
it is true;
so thank you.
erfan71
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:46 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron