Page 1 of 1
Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 3:41 am
by xr2alex99
Well well well
wow
i need to know how to make a clock on my game that shows how much time has passed since i started
00:00 is what it shows so far i believe its like this some how.
timer_xx/draw actor/script editor
if (Timer_xx.textNumber < 1)
{
Timer_xx.textNumber = 0;
getTime("Timer_xx.textNumber");
}
it keeps saying Error line 6: illegal parameter no. [2]
i know how to make hp/highscore/score/monsters/spells/movemetn/etc.
but i also want to show my enemies hp above their heads. i have 5 spells so far
Ultra Cavemage 60% complete
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 3:46 am
by xr2alex99
i want to uplod my game but i also want to add a picture instead of just the face(pac-man)
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 3:47 am
by Game A Gogo
http://game-editor.com/examples/gettime.zipto get help on how to use the getTime(); function
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 3:51 am
by xr2alex99
well thank you buddy
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 3:58 am
by Game A Gogo
np :3 If you still need help, maybe I could help you out
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:19 am
by xr2alex99
ok buddy
now i got the time working but its universal time
im aiming for game time
i have it set to 00:00
minutes:seconds i cant figure it out
it says sttime t = gettime();
minute.textNumber = t.min;
second.textNumber = t.sec;
also my snake enemies have an issue where they cant be killed invincible
only certain ones/every time i play a different one is invinvcible
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:41 am
by xr2alex99
Yes i know im awesome and my interest are true
yeah?
Re: How to make "???"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:52 am
by xr2alex99
Now i need help with making a speed trail follow my ice-ball
my player creates them using [/] left way right way
i already matched them to the fireballs.
basiccaly my fireballs go on in 1 direction with no path until the hit something and die.
i have 2 ice balls and 2 ice trails they are already matched and the parents of the trails are the ice ball corresponding to them
i also might need help making the ice balls freeze the person that they touch.
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:21 pm
by Game A Gogo
to do what you want, you don't need to use the getTime(); function. just use a timer (1000ms long) and make two character, one for the seconds, one for the minutes.
in the actor for the seconds, do this code at the timer:
- Code: Select all
textNumber++;
if(textNumber>=60)
{
textNumber=0;
Minutes.textNumber++;
}
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:20 am
by xr2alex99
so for the minutes and seconds they are kinda the same.
or do i just leave the seconds so that it builds up how many seconds have gone by.
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:25 am
by xr2alex99
Holy crap i typed in what you said and i put it in the seconds and the minute thing and well
the minutes are seconds and the seconds are miliseconds. you are awesome
i can just do this to make the minutes.
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:28 am
by xr2alex99
well no its not working now my minute and second actors are the same and contribute to the real minutes actor. ?
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:50 am
by xr2alex99
after awhile of quick poking and proding i may have figured it out.
i have three actors. Minutes:seconds:miliseconds (99) i removed the top textumber++ and it worked also only the seconds have the actual draw actor scripts. basically when ms reaches 99 it =0 and adds +1 to seconds then the same for seconds but they reach 60 it=0 and adds +1 to minutes your script has been helpful
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:16 am
by xr2alex99
well now that 1 issue is solved i can move onto the next.my issue now is infinite jumping.
its probally really simple. i just want to make the guy jump once or twice double jumping.
i think it works like a variable and then he cant jump again unless he is touching the ground or an object.
Re: Ultra Cavemage "i need some help"
Posted:
Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:08 am
by feral
xr2alex99 wrote:well now that 1 issue is solved i can move onto the next.my issue now is infinite jumping.
its probally really simple. i just want to make the guy jump once or twice double jumping.
i think it works like a variable and then he cant jump again unless he is touching the ground or an object.
very common question....
try here
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4019&p=36618&hilit=jumping#p36618towrds bottom of page
cheers