Page 1 of 1

Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:07 am
by PerrySteven
Hello, I'm wondering how I can accomplish a gradual transparency change of an actor in Game Editor?

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:11 am
by simranjit
If you mean how to smoothly change the transparency value of an actor during runtime, you can increase/decrease the transparency of an actor in the draw actor event controlled by appropriate script.
Use Actor variable 'transp'

From Script Reference:-
transp:The Actor'stransparency setting (0.0 - 1.0)

Use something like
Code: Select all
if (varX == 1)
{
Player.transp += 0.1;
}



[And hey guys I'm back]

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:40 pm
by MrJolteon
simranjit wrote:
Code: Select all
if (varX == 1)
{
Player.transp += 0.1;
}


Or you can try
Code: Select all
while(Actor.transp != 1)
{
    Actor.transp += 0.1;
}

This should work in a Create Actor event.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:44 pm
by simranjit
Yeah thats better if you want the actor to disappear smoothly.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:09 pm
by lcl
MrJolteon wrote:Or you can try
Code: Select all
while(Actor.transp != 1)
{
    Actor.transp += 0.1;
}

This should work in a Create Actor event.

Using that code will freeze Game Editor. :P
while is a keyword that repeats the same code over and over again during the same frame as long as the condition is true. And transp, being a double variable, will never be exactly 1, so the condition is never false and so the frame the actor gets created will never end - in other words, the program will freeze.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:27 am
by MrJolteon
lcl wrote:Using that code will freeze Game Editor. :P
while is a keyword that repeats the same code over and over again during the same frame as long as the condition is true. And transp, being a double variable, will never be exactly 1, so the condition is never false and so the frame the actor gets created will never end - in other words, the program will freeze.

Well I tried at least... :|

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:27 pm
by lcl
MrJolteon wrote:Well I tried at least... :|

Yes you did and it's a good thing. :)

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:49 am
by PerrySteven
I tried what was suggested, but I didn't get to testing without coming up with compiler errors: Illegal Operations
So, I had one actor named intro, and in the code I tried to increment intro.transp but the compiler told me it was an illegal operation.
I think I have one idea I could try, perhaps to have a variable incrementation within one of the ChangeTransparency's function fields.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:59 am
by lcl
PerrySteven wrote:I tried what was suggested, but I didn't get to testing without coming up with compiler errors: Illegal Operations
So, I had one actor named intro, and in the code I tried to increment intro.transp but the compiler told me it was an illegal operation.
I think I have one idea I could try, perhaps to have a variable incrementation within one of the ChangeTransparency's function fields.

That's weird. Try it with an actor with a different name. It could be that the name 'intro' is reserved for something in Game Editor itself.

A code like this should work with any actor if put into Draw Actor. It will fade out the actor.
Code: Select all
myActor.transp += 0.05;


Edit: And welcome back, simranjit! :D

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:30 am
by PerrySteven
I tried again with a different actor called "player", and this time it came up with no errors. But the game froze when I ran it.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:43 pm
by lcl
PerrySteven wrote:I tried again with a different actor called "player", and this time it came up with no errors. But the game froze when I ran it.

What code you used? And what GE version are you using? My code should not freeze GE.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:53 pm
by Opium
You guys are slow to extent that makes it seem rather amusing.

@OP
Click the actor you wish to go transparent and Add a Draw Actor event and select the Script Editor action.
And paste this code:
Code: Select all
transp += 0.01;

First off, the transp member variable per se is of dynamic type and it cannot go higher than 1. And that means the condition is redundant.
0.01 is the factor. If you want it faster, lower the value with say the half of it.

If you want to abort the transition disable the draw actor event of the actor from the Event Disable event or from some Script Editor.

You must elaborate what you mean by "changing" on the other side. What I show'd you is technically "changing", but it appears to be not so useful.
It may be useful to you, so it depends on information you didn't provide.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:54 am
by PerrySteven
Opium wrote:You guys are slow to extent that makes it seem rather amusing.

@OP
Click the actor you wish to go transparent and Add a Draw Actor event and select the Script Editor action.
And paste this code:
Code: Select all
transp += 0.01;

First off, the transp member variable per se is of dynamic type and it cannot go higher than 1. And that means the condition is redundant.
0.01 is the factor. If you want it faster, lower the value with say the half of it.

If you want to abort the transition disable the draw actor event of the actor from the Event Disable event or from some Script Editor.

You must elaborate what you mean by "changing" on the other side. What I show'd you is technically "changing", but it appears to be not so useful.
It may be useful to you, so it depends on information you didn't provide.


Oh, I see. Well thanks for that information. I will try that out sometime. Also, I'm very slow to reply because I'm currently studying for my exams.

Re: Gradual Transparency Changes

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:11 am
by Sarmad786
You can do something like this
Global Code
Code: Select all
float GradualChange = 0.05;

Actor>DrawActor
Code: Select all
transp += GradualChange;
if(transp >=1)
  transp = 1;