Page 1 of 1

FPS

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:52 am
by BlarghNRawr
i know you can change the FPS in the middle of game play... but how???

it would be useful for things in slow motion :D

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:39 pm
by DarkParadox
umm....
you can't, you can only look at the rate of the FPS by using realFPS, which is a READ ONLY VARIABLE.

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:33 am
by DilloDude
You can however create your own variable to do slow-mo.

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 3:20 am
by BlarghNRawr
-_-

lame... then this should be in feature requests

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:57 am
by DilloDude
If you make it yourself, you can keep the original fps, making it look smooth, whereas if you slowed the fps down, it would look jerky.

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:30 am
by feral
The easiest way is simply to have a "time loop" in your View Actor

EG:
Code: Select all
int timeloop=1000000 //or whatever current "slow-mo" needs

for (i=1;i <=timeloop);i++)
{
//do nothing but wait
}

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:18 pm
by feral
The easiest way is simply to have a "time loop" in your View Actor


actually, I sort of posted that without thinking too much :(

a "time loop" will work and is easy , but will VARY IN SPEED depending on the speed of the processor the game is playing on..

you are better off using timers and/or preferably the games "frame count" - I prefer the games "frame count" as it always depends on the speed the game is actually running at, whereas timers are dependent on the actual clock.

This means, for example, that if you slow your game by pausing using a timer.. the pause period will always be the same regardless of whether the game is running fast ( good PC ) or slow ( bad PC), where as the frame count will always be the the equivalent of the games running speed as it depends entirely on how fast the game is running on the PC..

This also helps , for example, if "Windows" suddenly decides to do some background processing tasks and the game slows down, the frame count will as well as it is tied to the game loop, which means your "pause" period will match the game speed , BUT, a timer will not, as it depends on an outside resource ( the PC clock) and as such it will always be the same speed regardless of the game..

see also this post
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5907&p=41281&hilit=frames#p41281

feral

see

Re: FPS

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:35 am
by BlarghNRawr
thnx :D ^^