Page 1 of 2

Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:44 pm
by DBGames
ok i have two buttons and two images, one button has to fade one image in and the other out. the second button vise versa.

button 1 > mouse click up > fade out > image 2 >fade in > image 1
button 1 > mouse click up > fade out > image 1 >fade in > image 2

heres how i have it setup to fade one with one button,
Actor Catalyst / create actor
Code: Select all
Image1.var=.02;
Image2.var=.02;


Actor Image1 / Draw Actor
Code: Select all
image1.transp-=image1.var;


Actor Button1 / Mouse button up
Code: Select all
Image1.var*=-1;
Image2.var*=+1;


Actor Button2 / Mouse button up
Code: Select all
Image1.var*=+1;
Image2.var*=-1;


if possible id like at least 5 buttons and images set up to all do their own individual image fade in.
var is a real, actor variable
Please help

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:35 am
by AliceXIII
im really not understanding what you want could you phrase it a little better?

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:49 pm
by DBGames
(A) (B) (C) (D)

(1) (2) (3) (4)

ABCD - Images

1234 - Buttons

button 1 fades out BCD and fades in A
button 2 fades out ACD and fades in B
button 3 fades out ABD and fades in C
button 4 fades out ABC and fades in D

when i say fade out. i am referring to visible change in transparency over time.
The codes i used above easily create the transparency effect on only 1 Image.
as soon as i begin to implement the others for making them invisible everything gets screwy.
NOTE: i dont really need them to fade but if a smooth Z depth effect could be used in place of the Fade.
that would be great.

~thx

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:17 pm
by AliceXIII
i'll work out a good fade i'll post the file in a bit..

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:29 pm
by schnellboot
I don't know if this is really what you want

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:57 pm
by AliceXIII
Hopefully it is boot my GE just crashed when i was trying to make it... damn random crashes.

but im about to go somewhere if it's not i could write the code in code boxes on here.

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:56 pm
by DBGames
WTH?

1 actor that fades?
2 buttons to fade in and out?!?!

i have made 1 actore that fade and ONE button that fades it in AND out!

i asked for control of at least 5 fading actors each with 1 button!

please, im sorry for being rude but i described that i hadf done beter then that in my posts...

and yours is nothing close to what i need...

what i have so far is closer then that. and what is with the SEMI-TRANSPARENCY!! i said in one of my posts INVISIBLE

thats pretty visible to me!

i need a COMPLETE. 100%. START TO FINISH. END TO END. 0-1. FADE.

please do not post if you do not understand what it is i want, and if you dont, ask me to reitterate.
i get more pissed at people who post their attempts and fail.

/rage
read entire thread.

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:03 pm
by schnellboot
I dunno what your talking bout, but I see this is not polite ^^
I can add some lines and it will work for unlimited clones, but I won't do that before you say sorry

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:25 pm
by AliceXIII
Honestly if your act that way when someone tries to help then no ones going to want to help you....

but this should be it:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12146640/fadeReDone.zip

*edit*: man if i knew you wanted him to say sorry i wouldn't have made this demo boot :P

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:32 pm
by schnellboot
ALICE
THERE IS NO SMOOTH FADING AND IT'S NOT ON MOUSE BUTTON UP !!!
DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND!!! READ BEFORE YOU POST !!!!
lol .. xD

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:41 pm
by AliceXIII
haha mine could just get turned around for mouse up easily :P

idk why anyone would want it on mouse up?? haha

and yeah i forgot about smooth fading alss easily implemented in my example as long as your mentality's above a 5 yr olds :D

and i didn't read before i posted im to good to read before i post.. either way everything you want's there you might just have to change 2 things although thats not my problem you gotta do some of the work if you want it to be your product :D

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:11 pm
by schnellboot
I was just kiddin ^^

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:26 pm
by AliceXIII
haha i knew you were i was kidding more or less except for the he's going to have to do some of the work himself part :D lol

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:45 pm
by DBGames
ok i just looked at and its close but the images didnt fade... entire point of this post but no biggie...
please make them fade to eachother as i requested and sorry. but you were way off. at least i can change MBD to MBU and at least hes got all five... ill try to add fade myself really quick...
edit: im not even gonna try. the buttons are clones of eachother. what 1 does theyll all do. wont work.

Re: Fade actor problems a bit more complicated though

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:49 pm
by needaname
just cuz someone is off doesnt mean its time to rage. i mean who would deliberately take there time to make a demo that doesnt do as you had asked for. if it is vastly off then that prolly means they did not properly understand you which lies the blame if there is any on you. all theyre doing is trying to help dude.