Page 1 of 1

how do you let people select what button does what?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:44 pm
by Kooldudese
how do you make it so that theyre is a place where you can select what button you want to press to make that happen aka. in the options thery is the
"controls"
of which in it it looks like
left=leftarrow "change key"
up=uparrow "change key"
down=downarrow "change key"
right=rightarrow "change key"
atk=spacebar "change key"
(and so on)
and when you press change key, it says"press the key to replace it"
plz help

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:19 pm
by Astro Lemur
Theres a function called 'remapKey'.

Theres two ways i know of to do it.

Number one is key to specific key, like changing '1' to '2':

remapKey(KEY_1, KEY_2);

Number two is key to last key pressed, which is:

remapKey(KEY_PAD_ENTER, getLastKey();

You could use number one with a key menu or use number two.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:58 pm
by Kooldudese
plz explain more detailedly how it would work...

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:05 pm
by Oman
I will make a demo :)

Edit: or not.... i cant get your way to work astro lemur :(

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:33 pm
by Kooldudese
plz make a demo, but im not saying you must use his way

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:37 pm
by Oman
i thought i could use his way... but i cant figure it out... i dont no any other way :(

Re: how do you let people select what button does what?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:20 am
by Astro Lemur
Sorry, been away for awhile. Honestly, im not sure exactly how to use them, i just looked up the functions in the script editor and guessed what they did. I'll try to make a demo right now.

Re: how do you let people select what button does what?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:34 am
by Astro Lemur
I've try both ways, and i havnt gotten it to work... sorry 'bout that.

Re: how do you let people select what button does what?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:17 pm
by Sondise
Send a message to this e-mail: support@game-editor.com
:wink: