Page 1 of 2

how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:07 pm
by Spidy
how do u make level completed screen and in completed screen how do u make high score or adding score :cry:

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:49 pm
by arcreamer
OMG DUDE try some things yourself game editor is SOOOOOOOOOOO easy to understand :!:

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:01 pm
by d-soldier
arcreamer, relax a bit. Spidy is at a disadvantage due to the language factor here.

Spidy, make an actor called lvlcomplete, and make a sprite for it that says "LEVEL COMPLETE", parent it to the view, and change it's transparency to 1. Once the level is complete, have an event change it's transparency to 0.

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 4:05 pm
by Spidy
thanks d-soldier :P

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:45 pm
by cyber ruler
spidey, I can tell your new, so this isn't meant to be harsh if thats how it sounds.

the featured requests section is for posting what you think should be added to game-editor, like updates. If you have a question you should try the game development section.

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:58 am
by Bee-Ant
d-soldier wrote:Spidy, make an actor called lvlcomplete, and make a sprite for it that says "LEVEL COMPLETE", parent it to the view, and change it's transparency to 1. Once the level is complete, have an event change it's transparency to 0.


Yeah...I always use this way to make a Completed Level... :mrgreen:

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 6:54 pm
by Troodon
And a much better effect comes when it goes slowly from 0 to 1 and vice versa. :D

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:57 am
by Bee-Ant
tekdino wrote:And a much better effect comes when it goes slowly from 0 to 1 and vice versa. :D

Yeah...use Timer don't you??? :D

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:00 pm
by Troodon
Nah, just the magic of fps.
(small decimals such 0,05 in draw actor)
:)

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:24 am
by Bee-Ant
tekdino wrote:Nah, just the magic of fps.
(small decimals such 0,05 in draw actor)
:)

@#$%##$$$^%gghhhh????!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:
Can you tell me how to use that??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
fps, real_fps, directional_velocity, angle, distance...(that functions)
I don't know anything..ha..ha..(I just used IF function) :roll:

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:21 pm
by Troodon
fps = frames per second
It can't be modified during the game but in the ged file you can from the game options.
If your fps is 30 then the draw actor code will be checked 30 times in a second. This means that the draw actore code happens "all the time". When the CPU usage goes up the fps numbers decrease from the set fps.
The real_fps is a read-only variable which shows the current fps value.

Angle is the direction of movement in degrees (0-360) when 0 is x.

Directional_velocity is the speed (pixels/frame) of the character.

Distance gives distance (in pixels) between two characters.

:)

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:10 pm
by Kalladdolf
RIGHT, but how do u use 'em in your code, like if(distance from actor1 to actor2 == so-and-so)
{ something happens; } :?: :?: :?:

I posted a question about how to make uphill races in the game development section and fuzzy gave me good advice. BUT unfortunately I don't know how to do it. If someone can check it out and come up with a good example or demo... I'd be :D :D :D .

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:31 pm
by Troodon
if (distance(x, y, player.x, player.y) >= 100)
{
something happens;
}

if it gives error message, about the first line, just change the place of > and =. (I may have mixed them)

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:46 am
by Bee-Ant
The most importand for me is in what codes I can put that variables???
maybe like this :
if(directional_velocity==bla2)
{bla3;}
directional_velocity=directional_velocity+3;

And what is the different thing beetwen
directional_velocity and yvelocity or xvelocity??? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Re: how do u make level completed screen

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 10:56 am
by Kalladdolf
btw thanks, tekdino.

xvelocity is the horizontal speed of an actor,
yvelocity is the vertical speed,
an u use directional_velocity when u want an actor to move towards or chase something...
for example:
angle = direction(x, y, mytarget.x, mytarget.y);
directional_velocity = 30;
then the actor chases the target with a speed of 30. :shock: :P :shock:

Now btw, I think this topic now fits feature request, cuz it would be kinda cool if GE had some kind of thing that showed what all those variables (,like vectoradd, floor, stopSound etc. ) mean. Would be helpful, especially for me!
:D :) :|