Page 1 of 1

100 points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:29 am
by The achievement
Say when i get to a hundred points right, how can i make it say a sentence?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:37 am
by makslane
Some thin like this:

if(score >= 100)
{
Create your text actor here
}

Look the Checkers demo:
http://game-editor.com/games/checkers.zip

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:44 am
by The achievement
ya its not working i dont know

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:20 am
by makslane
What's the problem?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:06 pm
by The achievement
hey makslane or novice, so do i go to my score actor and right click on him, then where do i go? i know i have to go to script editor, then when im done writing the script i know i go to creat actor (my text actor)

so what do i do first?? on my score actor?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:31 pm
by frodo
in draw actor do:


if(textNumber<100
{
strcpy...
}




I hope this was helpful.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:37 pm
by The achievement
what does the strcpy mean in this code?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:37 pm
by Novice
Right click on your actor-->Draw Actor-->Script Editor
in script editor put this code
Code: Select all
if ([replace this with your score variable name]==100)
{
Create Actor ([your text actor name], ....
}

this is pseudo code so use the Create actor function in the script editor and select your actor.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:51 pm
by frodo
ok, the strcpy was probably kinda confusing. here is a different way to do it:

if(textNumber<100)
{
createactor...
}

hope that was better.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:15 pm
by The achievement
you see my sentece shows up right in the begging of the game, i want it to show up when i reach 100!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:58 pm
by Novice
You have to set the create at startup option to no for the text actor.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:15 am
by The achievement
Eh.. i dont know what im doing wrong, its still showing up at the begging im doing what you said draw actor.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:51 pm
by frodo
well I put together a little game that is like you want, but it dosn't want to upload. so here is how to do it: (I told you wrong last time!)


if(score.textNumber>100)creat actor("text"...);


You have to include the name of your score actor before you type "textNumber".

Try that.