Page 1 of 1
Moving from screen to screen.
Posted:
Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:35 am
by linkthehero
Yes, this may sound quite stupid, but At the moment i am working on an rpg type game, and this works perfectly.ALMOST. The control scheme for this creation is pressinga button to make your character follow your mouse, and collide with enemies on different sides to destroy them. (Normal enough for you?) Anyway, I have made a single screen game like this and it works perfectly.But this is multiscreen, and i guess you could call it version 2.I dont know how to make the character go from screen to screen like this. Are my controls wrong? Am i just plain stupid? Somebody help me.PLEASE!
Re: Moving from screen to screen.
Posted:
Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:53 am
by catacomber
Hey, if anyone is stupid here, it's me. : ) Am also learning. Am not sure if what you mean is that you want to go from level1 to level2. If so, you need to set up different activation regions and enable the player to go from one level to the other. Look at DST's Gauntlet demo in Demos. Look at the Exit and it's code. Notice the yellow frames around each level. You know how to put those yellow frames in your game? Up top in Game Editor is a place: Regions: Add Activation Region.
Hope this helps. If not, come back, there are more seasoned GE people who can help you.
Re: Moving from screen to screen.
Posted:
Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:47 pm
by linkthehero
I have looked on all the tutorials, and still cant get a grip of what an activation region is exactally.
Re: Moving from screen to screen.
Posted:
Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:33 pm
by catacomber
Don't rely just on the tutorials. Try the demos.
You may also have to do something with view to do what you want but first understand what the activation region does. Maybe someone will help me here. : )
It's a box -- a yellow box around an area that holds everything you want to go on in that one area. It can act like a level and then if you want to make a second level you can add a new activation area. Try it. Look at the Fortune Cookie Demo even tho it hasn't anything to do with what you are doing.
There are two activation areas in Fortune Cookie Demo: two yellow boxes--that are placed from the drop down menu at the top --after you place them you can hook onto the sides to stretch them so they include the area you want to sort of "box off".
In Fortune Cookie demo, the game is played in one area---but there is a second screen---the help screen in a separate activation area that you can "load" from the first yellow activation area.
The Gauntlet demo shows this in a way that would suit I think what you're trying to do. You have two yellow boxes (activation areas) that are stretched out next to each other. One on the left contains the "first room" or "first level". One on the right is the "second room" or "second level" where the player is moved from the lefthand one once they reach the "Exit" door.
Think about some of the platform games where the player moves along slapping monsters until he reaches a gate or door that will take him to the next area where he can slap some different monsters or fight a boss.
The first area takes place inside one of those yellow grids.
Then via code and an object (the gate or door) the player is moved to the next area.
If this isn't what you want to do, say it. If this is, try to work with those regions until they work for you. There's probably a different way to do what you want to do but I don't know what it is. : )
Until you "see" it, keep asking questions.
An Activation Region is not the same as an Activation Event. Activation Event is a different animal. Don't get confused between the two.