Page 1 of 1

How do I do multiple region?

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 1:24 pm
by foody
Hello,

I have the main "view" object in game editor where the title is displayed. I want when the user push the "start" button on the gp2x, it goes to the NEW "region" (yellow square) for the first level, but sadly when I add the "NEW" region the screen is focused on it instead and thus the screen is black. I have to delete the new region before I can see the title again. Can anyone help me on this? Thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:20 pm
by Sgt. Sparky
anything outside of an activation region will not be rendered/drawn/put in the game.
:D
if you still have problems let me know.
(oh, and you must create a region for each part if you want it all to be rendered for a multi-level game that is in the same level/project window[Game Editor ect].)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:27 pm
by foody
So what you are saying if I have to draw the yellow square inside the "view" white square? That is impossible because that means I have to put everything on top of each other, will be messy and well, impossible.

If that is not the case then how can I assign the focus on the "view" (white) square box when I add new regions (yellow square box) and how do I transfer the focus from one focus to another within the game? Thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:49 pm
by d-soldier
I think a screenshot of your GE would be helpful to better understand what your are trying to do.
If you have a title screen/menu, the view would start off around it. Once your button is rigged to keydown event for gp2x start, the view should be be moved to the starting area for the game through scripts or a move-to event... The Activation areas (yellow squares) can be as big as you want, but make sure that one of 'em is surrounding the title screen area that the view starts in.

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 12:44 am
by Sgt. Sparky
foody wrote:So what you are saying if I have to draw the yellow square inside the "view" white square? That is impossible because that means I have to put everything on top of each other, will be messy and well, impossible.

If that is not the case then how can I assign the focus on the "view" (white) square box when I add new regions (yellow square box) and how do I transfer the focus from one focus to another within the game? Thanks in advance.

no,
you just have to have everything for that level insize the yellow box(activation region)
:D

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 1:19 am
by foody
What does that mean? :shock: If I have to put everything inside the yellow square (activation region) then what it's point? I can simply maximize the size of the view (white square) or don't bother period and draw everything outside the view and then move the view around because view is the camera. However, I don't want to do that. I don't want to move the camera around and people seeing the other scene in the background as the camera reaches it's destination...that means people get to see Game Over screen, high score screen, etc before reaching the level I want. WHAT? Are you serious? What I like about Game Maker for windows http://gamemaker.nl is I can develop rooms, one room is the title, on room is game over, one room is the levels, etc and I can simply use the event "Go To Room" and right away I am in that room with the starter event for that room and the hero is plotted there. Here I have to walk the hero over other rooms before he reaches his room and that means I have to make the walls step aside for the hero until the hero reaches the coordinate then the walls go back to their original position while the player get to see the screen that holds game over, etc. WHAT? ARE YOU SERIOUS!? If this is the case then I have no interest in using this program. Please tell me there is an alternative....PLEASE.

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 1:24 am
by Sgt. Sparky
foody wrote:What does that mean? :shock: If I have to put everything inside the yellow square (activation region) then what it's point? I can simply maximize the size of the view (white square) or don't bother period and draw everything outside the view and then move the view around because view is the camera. However, I don't want to do that. I don't want to move the camera around and people seeing the other scene in the background as the camera reaches it's destination...that means people get to see Game Over screen, high score screen, etc before reaching the level I want. WHAT? Are you serious? What I like about Game Maker for windows http://gamemaker.nl is I can develop rooms, one room is the title, on room is game over, one room is the levels, etc and I can simply use the event "Go To Room" and right away I am in that room with the starter event for that room and the hero is plotted there. Here I have to walk the hero over other rooms before he reaches his room and that means I have to make the walls step aside for the hero until the hero reaches the coordinate then the walls go back to their original position while the player get to see the screen that holds game over, etc. WHAT? ARE YOU SERIOUS!? If this is the case then I have no interest in using this program. Please tell me there is an alternative....PLEASE.


XD
you can make the region bigger,
and you do not have to use a region,
just so ya' know,
it just makes your game run better if you have more than one level(just by a bit, this program is awsome though! do not even think about stoppin'. :( ). :D

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:03 am
by foody
But...I did not get a solution though :cry: Please tell me if there is a tutorial that comes with the lesson of making a title and when the player presses any key and the player immediately get into the game, etc? Please help me, I am still stuck and I have already the graphics with me and I want to make a game for the gp2x. Thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:12 am
by Sgt. Sparky
are you talking about a menu?
to make one just make a seperate game as your menu,
no activations regions,
and when you press a key it loads a game,
such as:
LoadGame("yourGameName/levelName");
and export your levels as .dat files (Data only)
and load them when you start(key pressed). :D
sorry if I am being to brief. :(
I am trying to think of what to work on... halo kitty crashes alot. :(

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:23 am
by foody
http://www.4shared.com/file/16599159/db ... nshot.html
Above is the screenshot of my game. You see there is the title, so when I am playing in my GP2X and the user pushes "Start" button and instantly the player is into the level. How do I do that?

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:46 am
by Sgt. Sparky
oh,
so the title is in the game! *slaps my own head*
make a spawn point actor called SpawnPoint,
on the key down event that starts the game,
Code: Select all
if(ActorCount("yourplayername") == 0)SendActivationEvent("SpawnPoint");

when the SpawnPoint actor recieves and activation event from any actor,
make it create your player. :)
I still am not sure of what exaclty you want to do if this does not cover it. :(

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 12:28 pm
by makslane
foody wrote:Please tell me if there is a tutorial that comes with the lesson of making a title and when the player presses any key and the player immediately get into the game, etc?


Look the Sudoku demo:
http://game-editor.com/forum/tp-3391-Sudoku.html

Starts in a title screen, after few seconds, move to the game.