Page 1 of 2

activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:18 pm
by j2graves
the main problem I have is that if an actor was created in one region and moves into another region, it will disappear when it falls out of view. how can I make this stop?

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:20 pm
by Caaz Games
clone actor in one riegeon and the other?

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:22 pm
by j2graves
an actor follows the main actor at a slightly slower pase. main actor enters another region and so does the other actor. while both are in the new region, the other actor will disappear if it is no longer in view.

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:25 pm
by Caaz Games
how about a create actor event in the characters destroy actor make it create its self in the other riegeon

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:29 pm
by Caaz Games
Code: Select all
CreateActor("Destroyedactor", "icon", "(none)", "(none)", 1, 0, false);

it will keep creating itself to the right

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:35 pm
by j2graves
it has to be in the same position as it was when it entered the activation region.

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:37 pm
by Caaz Games
hmm maybe you could have the character walk faster

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:53 pm
by edh
Overlap activation regions?

Another idea I had was check the receive events when out of vision box in the actor control.

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:22 am
by pyrometal
Activation Regions are a real pain... I spent 2-3 hours today, trying to figure out how to get a character entering a door and warping to another location without being reset to its original position. I ended up doing so by destroying the entering character and creating a clone of that actor at the new location while simultaneously warping the view there as well. I also had to use timers to correct a handful of other bugs/glitches that were occuring.

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:28 pm
by j2graves
I've had other problems with activation regions like some objects don't apper. However, I have no choice but to use them otherwise my game will run like 0.005 fps :x

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:52 pm
by Bee-Ant
Activation region is useless for me...
I never use it :roll:

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:25 pm
by Kalladdolf
pyrometal wrote:Activation Regions are a real pain... I spent 2-3 hours today, trying to figure out how to get a character entering a door and warping to another location without being reset to its original position. I ended up doing so by destroying the entering character and creating a clone of that actor at the new location while simultaneously warping the view there as well. I also had to use timers to correct a handful of other bugs/glitches that were occuring.


my method of doing it, if I do it at all :wink:

for different levels, I use different .dat files and use the loadgame function, saves me loadsa trouble. the only thing you gotta take care of is the saving and loading of the variables.
but otherwise...

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:07 pm
by Bee-Ant
==Kalladdolf== wrote:I use different .dat files for different levels

Very correct...
But if you wanna make stand alone game... :roll:

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm
by Kalladdolf
then I guess I have a problem.

Re: activation region problem

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:47 pm
by edh
did you get a solution for this, yet?