Page 1 of 1

New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:20 am
by MysticTrunks
I've seen some great games with Game Editor but most have high quality art going on in the window which contents to 640X480 and I was just wondering since I'm aiming at a Game Boy advance like game if it's possible to have a 320X240 resolution window and just maximize to full screen if the user ever wanted a bigger window but without messing up the actual game.

I plan on creating a GBA like RPG which just by looking at the tutorials from within game editor and just looking at the names this editor seems ideal for me, I've used Game Maker for several years and I'm no stranger to programming and because of GML and some minor C++ practice I should be able to grab 'C' programming in no time.
I wanted a 320X240 resolution just because it's ideal for my 8X8 and 16X16 tiles, the bigger window will just make the game look out of place.

I've seen many types of games made with Game Editor and I've seen many great ones, but I haven't looked at Game Editor in years probably because of the $15 price tag and now that it's near $100 and obvious more features, a larger community and a larger database of tutorials which lead me to look at Game Editor for some time and I think it's just evolved from this little spec to this glorious editor. And from the main view of tutorials one might think this is a RPG Maker! But... obviously superior to Enterbrains failed creations.

So, I ask you is it possible to create a 320X240 window and use it instead of the default one?

Thanks!

Re: New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:37 pm
by jimmynewguy
Hey welcome! If I get what your saying yes!

On the top "bar" glick configure->game properties->and the first box in the top left corner is resolution. Just change it there. The $100 cost isn't really neccesarry though (if you can compile the source code) and you seem like a smart guy :)

Re: New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:44 am
by MysticTrunks
Well I'm supposed to have an IQ of 140 that's at least what the tests tells me, and thanks! I paid as well don't want to mess and or compile source code but if I need to say change some things such as 3D not being available then I'll do it that way.

Is there any specific tutorials or examples that deal with dialog? like this.

Code: Select all
Dialog("Kuririn:# So, what do you plan on doing with the [color=#40BFFF]dragon balls[/color] when you collect them all?")


For GBA or NDS RPGs Line-break isn't that important, well thanks the help.

Re: New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:54 am
by DST
Just a personal opinion, to all the people out there, i suggest you NEVER take an IQ test. Ever.

If you take one, you put an artificial limit on your intelligence. And its not necessarily correct, because the guy who designed the test must also have a limited I.Q. The test isn't perfect.

If you never take a test, then your iq is practically unlimited. It's a healthier way to think, IMHO.

Sorry, i know this isn't a useful response to your question, the tools are fstream fread sprintf strcpy.
strcpy(textguy.text, "this is the text");

That's about all i know. I just wanted to get the IQ thing out there.

Re: New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:08 pm
by jimmynewguy
well if you want the whole "typeing" text with colors, and choices i couldn't tell you how to make it. But check out pyro's (cause he did) i can use his, but understanding it is completley different :)

http://game-editor.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6243&p=44293&hilit=text#p44293

Re: New dude here, but with a hint of programming knowledge!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:08 pm
by MysticTrunks
The only thing that stumbles me is the window graphic as I'd like to just use an image instead of the default window, but I don't know if it's a file or drawn through a hundred different codes.

Found the window graphic, it's drawn by window_draw(width,height) any idea of changing this into a graphic?