Page 1 of 2
how do you make levels
Posted:
Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:20 pm
by pdude1
can anyone explain to me how to make different levels on the game.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:28 pm
by DST
That depends on the kind of game. If its a shooting or puzzle game, you simply load different graphics and change a few variables (like speed, or number of enemies/pieces).
Shooting/puzzle games need only a few screens to make a game; one for the menu, one for the playfield, one for high scores.
If its a platformer, then you simply move the view(and player1) to the new location. Its a good idea in that case to use activation regions to separate the levels (saves memory and cpu).
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:54 pm
by pdude1
how do you use activation regions. I know how to get them on but i cant switch levels, oh and it is a platform game
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:47 pm
by segwego12
I just make diffrent exes for each level which is hard and time consuming. Not for lazy people.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:53 pm
by Thanx
To understand activation regions I say you look it up in the GE documentation, it lays things out quite clearly there... Anyway, there's nothing complicated in handling them, you move the actor in and out, everything there should show,as long as it is in an activation region..
Yes putting different parts of the game into different GE files is a possability, but that's a bit complicated, but at the same time necessary if the game is that big...
These are your choises, choose apropriately!
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:56 pm
by segwego12
I am not able to find anything about activation regions in it and I read it all.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:29 pm
by Thanx
Documentation --> Getting Started --> Main Menu --> about half way down it describes pretty much what you need to know about them
Don't tell me it isn't in it, I myself have gone through it, and examined it, I know what is in it, and what isn't...
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:39 am
by segwego12
I did just that guess what, it said activation regions are useless retarded yellow squares! What is wrong with my ge?
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:47 pm
by Thanx
They're not useless unless you use them for what they were made for.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:40 am
by BlarghNRawr
i think its much easier 2 not use them
not enough expenation 4 noobs like me
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:30 am
by Bee-Ant
I would use
saveVars();
LoadGame();
loadVars();
Export all project to game data only
Different file for different level, just like segwego12.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:45 pm
by Tivmiv
the activation events they are simple
when the view collides with it everything inside the region is loaded into the game.
when the view moves on and stops colliding with it... everything inside is unloaded.
very useful for creating big games.
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:55 pm
by BlarghNRawr
so i dont have to do any coding or scripting or whatever?
i just put 1 region around every level?
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:11 pm
by Thanx
Ya, you can do it that way, but have all the actors in at least one region, otherwise there might be parts of the game not included...
Re: how do you make levels
Posted:
Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:14 pm
by moonmoon
I got the information.