Page 1 of 1
GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:58 am
by RadThadd
Please help, I need user interface scripts and functions. You know like how Game Maker does. I know Game Editor supports the for statement and drawing functions, aswell as mouse x and y so it should be possible? Just wanna know how.
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:03 am
by DeltaLeeds
Game Editor does have a user interface, and obviously it has scripts and functions! You can even make variables but anyway to start of you should:
Add an actor.
Edit an actor's behaviour by right clicking it, selecting actor control, and that's where all the magic happens.
You can add scripts upon the actor's creation by choosing create actor, and clicking script editor. What an actor does each frame by clicking the draw actor and script editor, you can even add timers, what the actor does when it's destroyed, how it should be destroyed, etc etc.
If you want to make a global script, go to scripts and select Global Code, add a code and click add and put a name for the specified code.
There is tons more to do in game editor, especially if you know a lot of C coding, but I won't be explaining everything about gE, you should check gE's help option to know how gE works, or try the tutorial section in the forums for starters. You could also ask for our help in the General part of the forums.
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:18 am
by RadThadd
jonathang, I meant to draw my own list box and etc. at RUNTIME, of course it has it's own UI, as sure as clockwork. but what I mean is, displaying your own tabs, (it already has text boxes), list boxes, drop down menus, and what not. If that is not possible just say it, but GM can do it, so you know what I mean.
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:21 am
by RadThadd
jonathang wrote:Game Editor does have a user interface, and obviously it has scripts and functions! You can even make variables but anyway to start of you should:
Add an actor.
Edit an actor's behaviour by right clicking it, selecting actor control, and that's where all the magic happens.
You can add scripts upon the actor's creation by choosing create actor, and clicking script editor. What an actor does each frame by clicking the draw actor and script editor, you can even add timers, what the actor does when it's destroyed, how it should be destroyed, etc etc.
If you want to make a global script, go to scripts and select Global Code, add a code and click add and put a name for the specified code.
There is tons more to do in game editor, especially if you know a lot of C coding, but I won't be explaining everything about gE, you should check gE's help option to know how gE works, or try the tutorial section in the forums for starters. You could also ask for our help in the General part of the forums.
not what I meant, I wanna display my own list box, right click menus etc. DURING GAMETIME/RUNTIME GET IT?
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:22 am
by MrJolteon
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Wed Aug 05, 2015 10:20 am
by bat78
Note that it is meant for stand-alone usage and not suitable for fore-gui games, because of its performance stability.
There are alternatives.. of course.. but is too early for that.
Good luck with the built-in textbox. (you will most likely need it)
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:35 am
by DeltaLeeds
RadThadd wrote:jonathang, I meant to draw my own list box and etc. at RUNTIME, of course it has it's own UI, as sure as clockwork. but what I mean is, displaying your own tabs, (it already has text boxes), list boxes, drop down menus, and what not. If that is not possible just say it, but GM can do it, so you know what I mean.
Lol! This makes it clear on what you meant. Sorry for not understanding your post that well!
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:26 pm
by RadThadd
jonathang wrote:RadThadd wrote:jonathang, I meant to draw my own list box and etc. at RUNTIME, of course it has it's own UI, as sure as clockwork. but what I mean is, displaying your own tabs, (it already has text boxes), list boxes, drop down menus, and what not. If that is not possible just say it, but GM can do it, so you know what I mean.
Lol! This makes it clear on what you meant. Sorry for not understanding your post that well!
Thanx, but I was also having trouble trying to use the Android apk development method. I don't know why but in step 5, I don't have the Install Oackages section under the Tools box, the only thing inside that is Android SDK.
Re: GUI widgets scripts needed!
Posted:
Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:44 pm
by bat78
RadThadd wrote:jonathang wrote:RadThadd wrote:jonathang, I meant to draw my own list box and etc. at RUNTIME, of course it has it's own UI, as sure as clockwork. but what I mean is, displaying your own tabs, (it already has text boxes), list boxes, drop down menus, and what not. If that is not possible just say it, but GM can do it, so you know what I mean.
Lol! This makes it clear on what you meant. Sorry for not understanding your post that well!
Thanx, but I was also having trouble trying to use the Android apk development method. I don't know why but in step 5, I don't have the Install Oackages section under the Tools box, the only thing inside that is Android SDK.
PM lcl,
He will help you with that.