Page 1 of 2
Looking in the move direction
Posted:
Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:57 pm
by Troodon
Hi,
How can I make my actor look in the moving direction.
Of course, I've got a rotating animation, so all I need is to have the draw actor code. Thanks
Posted:
Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:31 pm
by DilloDude
IF you are using angle, just put
- Code: Select all
animpos = (angle / 360) * nframes;
to get a basic one. For a more efficient one, if you have 36 frames, you can use
- Code: Select all
animpos = angle * .1;
For other numbers of frames you will have to adjust the .1
Posted:
Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:12 pm
by Troodon
Thanks Dillodude! I will make it 36 frames, but do you know any good software to rotate an image without having troubles with the blackground? Is the paint.net for example good enough?
Posted:
Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:09 am
by DilloDude
I don't know really. Most of the time when I do rotations I use a 3d model.
Posted:
Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:25 am
by Sgt. Sparky
use animation shop 3
Posted:
Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:58 pm
by Troodon
I'll try that, thanks!
Posted:
Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:22 pm
by Sgt. Sparky
you are welcome
Posted:
Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:39 pm
by Troodon
I made a very nice 360 frames animation with Animation Shop 3! It's pitty that my animation shop is trial and will finish in I think 20 days. Maybe I should make now lots of rotating sprites for my future's game projects.
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:26 am
by Fuzzy
Gimp will work for that too, no expiry, and it has an animation add on, also free, but i havent tried it yet.
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:38 am
by Troodon
One of my friends mentioned gimp but I didn't found the animation system from it. Maybe I just haven't got the addon or something.
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 1:08 am
by Fuzzy
http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/stable.html
if you are using windows.. its at the bottom of that page.
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:44 am
by Troodon
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:37 am
by Joshua Worth
tekdino wrote:One of my friends mentioned gimp but I didn't found the animation system from it. Maybe I just haven't got the addon or something.
If you are making a gif animation, just use the layers dialog, and add a layer for each frame.
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:38 am
by Joshua Worth
DilloDude wrote:I don't know really. Most of the time when I do rotations I use a 3d model.
Same here!
Posted:
Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:41 am
by Troodon
I am also using a 3d model in one of my current game projects, but sometimes I need a smooth rotation of 360 frames.
This is one 3d model I made for Orbiter and for one of my game projects: