Page 1 of 1

Moving Platforms...Is it Possible?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:01 am
by 11658
I'm making a platform game and I want to have moving platforms. Is that possible? If so, how?

Also, ladders???

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:04 am
by 11658
Are ladders possible?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:40 pm
by makslane
I'm making a platform game and I want to have moving platforms. Is that possible? If so, how?


You can move the platforms like any other actors in your game. You can use paths, you can change the (x, y) coordinates in a Script Editor.

Are ladders possible?


When the player collides with a ladder, you can enable, using a variable, the up and down, and disable on collision finish event.

Ladders

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:22 pm
by 11658
What exactly would that script be and what would I need to put exactly for events?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:41 am
by jazz_e_bob
ladders would be easy

Use an actor variable integer "canClimb"

When you collide with a ladder canClimb = TRUE;
When you end collision with a ladder canClimb = FALSE;

If you are next to a ladder and canClimb == TRUE then pressing up makes you go up.

Bugga. I just noticed that M has already said this! :oops:

Image

Moving platforms? Moving them is easy. Jumping on and off of them is tricky! When you solve that one tell me! :wink:

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:27 am
by Dark RyNo
Im trying to put moving platforms in a game at the moment.
I didnt use paths as the size of the dots means you cant put them close enough together and the platform moves too fast.
I used timers and script editing.
Ive made jumping on work. I put in all the physical responses of a normal block and then added something.
On Collision with Topside of Movingplatform
Change Parent of Event Actor to Moving Platform.

It worked. He stays on the platform.

Problem. When I jump off, it stays his parent so he moves around and stuff.
I tryed doing.
On Collisionfinish with topside of Movingplatform
Change Parent of Event actor to no parent.

But that didnt work. It is still his parent, I dont understand why though.

Moving PLatforms solved!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:05 am
by Dark RyNo
Problem Solved!
You just make it:
On Collision Finish with topside of movingplatform
change Parent of event actor to a still object in your game like a tree or something. (for some reason no parent didnt work for me)
Just be careful you dont delete that still actor.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:52 pm
by jazz_e_bob
Excellent work! :)

¬¬

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:19 am
by Louiz_ofRohr
HEY!!!!!
Why to move all the stage when you can just change the global property:

view.y
&
view.x

where view is eq to "camera view".. or "camera position"..

try something like move the "camera" with arrowKeys..

view.y -= 5;
it moves the "camera" 5 points up..

view.y += 5;
it moves the "camera" 5 points up..

view.x +=5;
it moves the "camera" 5 points right;

view.x -=5;
it moves the "camera" 5 points left;

try that..

is much better..
much more fast..
much more powerfull..

=]]]