Page 1 of 1

Can I do this with Game-Editor

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:27 pm
by zexmorf
Im very low on days left on my Trial, so before I buy the software I want to make sure that it can do what I want in this release. :) :D (It probally can)

I got alot working already, but cant get the player to move object around the screen.
This is what I want to do on my Qtek 8310
1: PlayerX picksup BlockY move BlockY left or right then release BlockY.
Then picks up BlockZ move BlockZ.

2: Can I create levels that are been read from a .TXT file containing my level info. f.instance
0 = Background block
1 = BlockY
2 = BlockZ
X = Transparent

level.txt contains

000000000000000000
00xxxxxxxx00xxxx00
00xxxxxxxxxxxxxx00
000010000001000000
00000xxxxx00000000
000000220000000000


Sorry for my poor ASCII art skillz.

Hope this makes sence.



ZexMorf

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:51 pm
by makslane

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:33 pm
by zexmorf
Thanks for the replay Markslane, that looks very good, but what about the first question.

Can my Player actor pickup another actor, move it around and drop to just to pick up another actor.

ZexMorf

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:56 pm
by makslane
In some event of PlayerX (like when collide with BlockY) add this Script Editor action:

ChangeParent(BlockY, "Event Actor");

To release BlockY:

ChangeParent(BlockY, "no parent");

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:18 pm
by Troodon
You can do also a 'brake' variable wich is on when there is no collisions.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:02 pm
by zexmorf
TekDino

I just got the program today (yep bought it today), so Im a super noob regarding this, so an example would be great :)
Thanks for helping out.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 3:31 pm
by Troodon
Make a variable (for example brakeVar).
When the actor is not touching the block, it's x and y velocity are 0;
When the actor collides with the block, the brakeVar is off and the actor can move.