Page 1 of 1

Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game speed

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:42 pm
by ggesterGamePro99
The other day i added an animation and noticed you can change the frame rate of the animation. i changed it to 200 to test...and in the preview window, looked great and it did change.

But in the game, it didn't change the frame rate at all.

So my question is, what if you want to have some character slow motion within the game?
OR what if you want to change the frame rate of the game.


And by the way , in some video tutorial a guy DID change the frame rate of his added animation and it worked. So why not in mine?
Or can you only change to lower than 30 ??? cause i changed it to 200.

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:49 pm
by Jagmaster
200 fps is rather extreme, as the illusion of movement starts at 12 fps (that is the point where you can no longer perceive each frame individually). In that case you may want to try something less extreme (16, 32, 64) perhaps. Really I've found that there's not much perceivable difference between frame rates, the higher you go. You may also want to try reducing the amount of redundant frames in your animation (if you have a very long animation) as well. That will make your animation faster too.

To address the other question, the frame rate of the game can be changed under config - game properties. I wouldn't advise anything over 64.

Hope this helps, kinda rushed so if you need further explanation just ask. :)

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:26 pm
by ggesterGamePro99
Thank you jagmaster. Great explanation. I'll use that knowledge and will make my best game ever.

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:01 am
by SuperSonic
I'd wouldn't use a 32 frame rate. The best is 64 and up. I have a really good monitor and the difference is extraordinary! :D

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:04 am
by Jagmaster
glad I could be of help ^^

@SS:
Well then I guess it's a matter of personal preference. Things start behaving erratically for me when I use a higher frame rate (Not to mention having to slow down everything in the game in order to compensate). I'm also one of those unlucky chaps who uses a mediocre monitor, so movement actually starts getting choppier. :?

I suppose if I designed a game for 64 fps specifically it wouldn't be so bad. Anything higher doesn't work for me. :P

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:01 pm
by lcl
ggesterGamePro99 wrote:And by the way , in some video tutorial a guy DID change the frame rate of his added animation and it worked. So why not in mine?
Or can you only change to lower than 30 ??? cause i changed it to 200.

Animations actual frame rate is always limited to the frame rate of the game.
So, if you have your games frame rate set at 30, your animations frame rate can be from 1 to 30.
If you set your games frame rate higher, for example 64, the limits will be 1 - 64.
I think you got the point.

Let's think why is that.
The frame rate of the game defines how many times in a second the screen is redrawn.
If your game gets redrawn only 30 times in second, it can't actually show faster animations than 30, because the screen refresh doesn't happen
often enough.

I wish that was helpful. :)

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:40 pm
by ggesterGamePro99
lcl wrote:
ggesterGamePro99 wrote:And by the way , in some video tutorial a guy DID change the frame rate of his added animation and it worked. So why not in mine?
Or can you only change to lower than 30 ??? cause i changed it to 200.

Animations actual frame rate is always limited to the frame rate of the game.
So, if you have your games frame rate set at 30, your animations frame rate can be from 1 to 30.
If you set your games frame rate higher, for example 64, the limits will be 1 - 64.
I think you got the point.

Let's think why is that.
The frame rate of the game defines how many times in a second the screen is redrawn.
If your game gets redrawn only 30 times in second, it can't actually show faster animations than 30, because the screen refresh doesn't happen
often enough.

I wish that was helpful. :)


YES it was. Awesome!!!
Now i have to figure out where to set the frame rate of the game :)

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:06 pm
by skydereign
In the main menu bar at the top, [Config] -> [Game Properties]. From there is a place for fps.

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:34 pm
by SuperSonic
Jagmaster wrote:@SS:
Well then I guess it's a matter of personal preference. Things start behaving erratically for me when I use a higher frame rate (Not to mention having to slow down everything in the game in order to compensate). I'm also one of those unlucky chaps who uses a mediocre monitor, so movement actually starts getting choppier. :?
Ok, that makes a little more sense ^^

However, to fix the motion problem, use this whenever you change xvelocity:
Code: Select all
xvelocity = <replace this with a number> * (30/real_fps);
So here's an example that you could put in Draw Actor:
Code: Select all
yvelocity += .5 * (30/real_fps);

That way, no matter what framerate you set it to, your actor will move at the same visual speed :D

Re: Can't change frame rate, right? no slow motion OR game s

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:16 am
by Jagmaster
lcl wrote:Animations actual frame rate is always limited to the frame rate of the game.
So, if you have your games frame rate set at 30, your animations frame rate can be from 1 to 30.
If you set your games frame rate higher, for example 64, the limits will be 1 - 64.

Something I never thought of (but probably should of). Thanks for pointing that out! :)

SuperSonic wrote:
Code: Select all
xvelocity = <replace this with a number> * (30/real_fps);
So here's an example that you could put in Draw Actor:
Code: Select all
yvelocity += .5 * (30/real_fps);

That way, no matter what framerate you set it to, your actor will move at the same visual speed :D


One of those useful bits of code I forgot about. Thanks! :)