Page 1 of 1

Clone Actors

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:32 pm
by sniperpike
I would like to clone my enemy soldier, so they do the same events.
But when i clone it and play the game, they all die when killing one of them.
Can i clone it, so they react individually?


Is it possible to clone proper without coding? Im not into coding yet.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:58 pm
by 98700
tell me how u did it. like in collision events?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:36 pm
by pixelpoop
your code to kill the enemy is probably not on the enemy but on the player. Put the code on the enemy and make sure it uses "Event Actor" for who too destroy and not the actor's name.

like this
DestroyActor("Event Actor");

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 2:34 am
by d-soldier
The problem is most likely your enemy's health variable. (if you are using one) be sure that it is an "ACTOR" variable, not "GLOBAL".

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:07 pm
by sniperpike
your code to kill the enemy is probably not on the enemy but on the player. Put the code on the enemy and make sure it uses "Event Actor" for who too destroy and not the actor's name.


The code IS on the enemy, not on the bullet from the player.

The idea is, when enemy is shot by player bullet, enemy changes animation (he falls and die). It works fine.
But when I clone it, the one I shoot, changes animation like it should, the otherone just disapear.

Im stocked....

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:20 pm
by pixelpoop
If the correct one changes animation put an animation finish event on your enemy character. point to the death_throes_animation, select Destroy Actor, select Event Actor. And that should only destroy the one.

Re: Clone Actors

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:39 pm
by sniperpike
I allready had an "animation finish" event, but I did´nt select "Event Actor"..... It worked out fine :lol:

Thanks Pixelpoop :)

Re: Clone Actors

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:29 pm
by pixelpoop
no problem.